Some Megaliths I Discovered in Tunisia


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia
April 18th 2013
Published: May 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A Pile of StonesA Pile of StonesA Pile of Stones

The other side of a gauge so I couldn't get to them

The Camel Stones





While Looking for the Necropolis of Elles I got lost and happened upon some megaliths.

(To see details of my visit to Elles - http://www.travelblog.org/Africa/Tunisia/Le-Kef/blog-782270.html)



I found 3 different sites while driving down the wrong road:


• One looks like a pile of stones
• One is a single Standing stone next to the road
• The other is a set of 3 standing stones between the road and a farm.



There is no town town nearby, so for now I am going to call them the 'Camel Stones' in honour of Tunisia's famous animal.



There were many quarries in the area and while driving around I noticed many stones that could have been the remnants of megalithic structures left by our ancestors. This area definitely warrants a return or a visit by someone with a lot more time than I had on this day



I submitted this site to megalithic.co.uk - http://www.megalithic.co.uk/article.php?sid=33974



.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Three Camel StonesThe Three Camel Stones
The Three Camel Stones

With the farm behind


Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb