Preparation for the Climb


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
April 24th 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last week I went out with the High Park Hiking Club to Dundas to hike a part of the Bruce Trail where we saw seven (plus some small ones) waterfalls. It was great to get out with people who enjoy the outdoors and are up for a little excercise. Five and a half hours later and it was a great day....minus the rain, snow, sunshine (in that order) over the course of the day. Meh, I took that as a realistic look at what Kilimanjaro might have in store for me. I will try and make this a regular thing.

I went out yesterday to Niagra Glen with my son and walked some trails for a couple of hours. It was a bit of a pain getting through traffic with Easter long weekend, but the end result was great. My son got a new appreciation for the outdoors. Two weekends in a row, got to decide where I'm going next weekend! Probably something closer to the city since gasoline prices are infuriating me...

So while I was hiking the Bruce Trail, I tried out my poles for the first time...ever! Turns out I really found them helpful and noticed how they transfered the weight of climbing to my arms instead of my knees. I used to run cross country and track and field and have always noticed that my knees get tired out easily, nothing too noticable, but I know I will have knee problems later in life. I highly recommend using hiking poles. I used one, but was told by my guide that two will give me better balance. Two it is then!

I'm in search for an outershell on a budget! With the off season coming up it should make it cheaper, but harder to find.

Have six paid climbers now and still looking for four more before July. The search continues. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb