Zanzibar, Tanzania (Days 31 - 35)


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
June 24th 2006
Published: July 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

June 21 - 25
I left Tad in Arusha and caught a 1hr prop flight to Zanzibar. We flew right by Mt. Kili. I landed in Old Town and headed to the northeast coast of the island. The island is mostly Muslim - my first experience with Muslim culture (it made the transition to 99%!M(MISSING)uslim Morocco a little easier). On my ride to east side, I passed hundreds of school children going home for the day at 12:30pm. Their school system is so crowded they have two shifts, one from 7am - lunch and one from lunch to 7pm...

We stayed at a resort on Matemwe Beach. It was very relaxing - I read a lot. We went scuba diving one day. We also watched the U.S. lose to Ghana in the World Cup. I had a great time watching the World Cup all over the world, and I believe it now when they say a billion people watch it. I watched games with crowds in Australia, Bangkok, Dubai, Morocco, even our little hotel in Arusha, Tanzania. The most exciting games were France/Brazil and France/Italy (finals) while I was in France.

We made one day trip to Old Town, which is a run-down but beautiful port town. After walking around the old streets we watched kids jumping off the pier into the water, over and over (fully clothed). We then had a cool swahili dinner...


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb