Last Email from Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 13th 2007
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All! Today was a free day after the stress of ISP writing and presentations as well as Kiswahili final exams. All went very well, and it was so cool to hear all about the projects that the other ladies did for the past month. Yesterday all of us headed out to spend some more money on gifts and souvenirs. I am so glad that I did shopping early on, we are so sick of the shopkeepers harassing us that we are totally unmotivated to shop. Last night we went on a pub crawl through stone town and had a great time having fun here. Today we all took a boat out to Changu/Prison Island off of stone town to lay in the sun, see the Aldabra giant tortoises and have a pineapple eating contest! Random I know, but it was so much fun! We had teams and each team had to finish a whole pineapple. Mary (my snorkel buddy) and I won hands down...after a very challenging start that involved lots of laughing and choking on pineapple juice. 3 minutes and 40 seconds to down a whole pineapple! Every team finished their pineapple, and no one threw up! Yay! It was great. It is kind of sad that the group is going to be breaking up in two days. Some of the girls are traveling after the program and half of us are coming straight home. The group has been amazing. I cannot believe that 15 girls got along so well with so little drama during the semester! It was so much fun.

I will be arriving home at midnight on the 16th. I cannot wait to see those of you near by, and to those of you far away, at some point in the near future (I hope!). My next travel plans include China for spring break with my family, then hopefully to the Red Sea to dive this summer. Who knows after that! Thanks for reading all my updates, and I hope that you enjoyed reading out these crazy months in Zanzibar as much as I enjoyed experiencing them! Can it really be over?



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

@ the airport@ the airport
@ the airport

#s so we don't loose anyone in transit


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb