Some more weather


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Nungwi
March 31st 2015
Published: March 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Although it rained on and off for a week beforehand, the locals maintained steadily that rainy season absolutely does not start until the 21st of March. I waited amusedly for the auspicious date to roll around, only to be called out on my cynicism. We were woken in the early hours of the 21st of March by what I can only describe as a practically solid downpour of water, thundering on the roof and the ground, battering the trees and darkening the sky. Often, you can hear the wall of rain coming before you see or feel it. There are some beautiful cloud formations appearing in this changeable sky; dark grey swipes loom beyond puffy white marshmallows, which hover above pinky-purple splodges on the horizon. The effect of the changing light and winds on the sea is also beautiful and interesting. Within an hour, a stretch of ocean can change from rippled azure water, to creased navy satin, to a pool of milk, to a sheet of glass, and back again.

It is somewhat nostalgic for me to have to take a coat or an umbrella with me everywhere I go, even if the sun is shining when I venture outdoors. Of course, every time I neglect the umbrella, I inevitably get drenched to the skin by the torrent of rain which decides to start the second I step out from under shelter. Furthermore, there is little chance of drying off, as the average humidity is now 100%.

The wind has died down now, which means that my hair no longer resembles dreadlocks, but instead frizzes itself gently into a fuzzy, fluffy halo no matter how tightly I braid it. The moist air is doing wonders for my skin, however - I don’t have a patch of eczema in sight, and my precious imported moisturiser has barely been touched. Another pro is that the previously parched gardens are springing up lush and green, alive with butterflies and moths. Less welcome insects now flourishing, however, are mosquitoes and flies.



The contrast between the dry and wet seasons is remarkable to experience. Last week I was showering in cold water three or four times a day in an attempt to stay cool for more than 30 seconds; yesterday I found myself voluntarily putting on a jumper and socks after getting caught in a downpour. I had forgotten what being cold felt like.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb