Zanzibar Lazy Beach Days


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Kendwa
July 1st 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

July 1st we arrived at a campsite just outside Dar es Salaam, called Mikadi Beach. After a very long day in the truck I walked straight into the Indian Ocean still wearing my clothes. The campsite was one of my favorites, sandy beach, palm trees, and great views of the sunrise. It was a little piece of heaven.

July 2nd we took the express ferry to Zanzibar. I sat inside the ferry, got really seasick and then spent the rest of the ferry ride throwing up over the side of the back of the boat. The only bonus of this throwing up experience was I was one of the few people who saw the dolphines swimming along the side of the boat.

Zanzibar was a tropical paradise. The ferry arrived in Stone Town and then we took a bus an hour to our hostle, Kendwa Rocks, which was right on the beach. Jen and I upgraded our room to a bungalow; our original room smelled horrible and was a little scary looking. The rest of the time in Zanzibar was very lazy. It was very nice break. I sat on the beach, ate a ton of food, and that was pretty much it. There was full moon party on July 4th that was pretty lame, so there was no real celebration for the Americans on our nation’s holiday.

On July 6th Jen and left Zanzibar a day early and headed back to Mikadi Beach. I did my own laundry for the first time. It takes a really long time to wash, rinse and hang clothes to dry. I really appreciate the idea of washer and dryers now.

All together Tanzania is a great country. It has a lot to offer for all types of people.


Advertisement



31st July 2009

Love your updates!
Hi Leah, I've been enjoying seeing your updates and am living vicariously through your travel updates. What a life changing experience. Please keep the posts coming!

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb