Tancan 2013 Medical Mission


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » South » Songea
August 24th 2013
Published: November 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, August 24th, 2013



Last day of Clinic ….







<strong style="mso-bidi-font-weight: normal;">Clinic Day 5: Today, I was in charge of the gift table. I had to make sure that there were enough gifts for the clinic children. Our supply was diminishing. It was a fairly slow day. I played card games with the student volunteers at the clinic and talked with other members of the Tancan team. At the end of the clinic I handed out candy canes to the student volunteers not expecting them to go crazy and surround me. They were normal while we played card games. I guess when it comes to free candy all civility goes out the window. It was a free for all, and chaos unfolded as the volunteers swarmed me while grabbing the candy. I was glad when all the candy canes were gone.







Afterwards, the Vincentians prepared a bonfire and dinner for the Tancan 2013 volunteers. Awards and certificates were given out to the Tanzanian staff and then it was party time. However, we had limited music in the mountains, and we ended up dancing to the country music on Colleen and Monica’s Ipods. Nevertheless, I learned some complicated line dancing moves to the song Footloose.







Tomorrow, a group of us including Renata and I will be going on sponsor child visits. We will be seeing various sponsor children’s homes and learn about their family and way of life. The rest of the Tancan team will take part in a basketball game against the De Paul Secondary School students. Until then!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb