Sponsoring baby Grace


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Ngorongoro Conservation Area
November 13th 2009
Published: November 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sadly, my time at the Children’s Village is coming to an end. I leave here on Sunday,…it will be so hard to say goodbye to these amazing kids…they are all so precious. I’ve decided to sponsor little six-month old Baby Grace, who lives in Serengeti house with me. Her mother died during childbirth, she was born very premature and when she first arrived here she was still just teeny-tiny. She now has these big pudgy legs, and adorable chubby cheeks, which I just love to muckle onto. She smiles at me every time I see her, and the mommas told me the other day that she only started smiling around the time that I arrived here….she just melts my heart! It’s probably a good thing that none of the kids here are up for adoption (they all belong to Momma India) but by becoming Gracie’s sponsor I can remain a part of her life and watch her grow and one day even help send her to school. All the more incentive for me to come back and visit too! This place is just so awesome. I’ve been compiling notes since I’ve been here, brainstorming story ideas, and taking loads of pictures,…these kids here each have such incredible stories, it’s almost as if the books are already written. I can’t wait to share with you all.
When I leave here I’ll be traveling around for awhile,…after my Serengeti balloon safari, I head to Zanzibar for some much anticipated beach time. Hopefully I’ll continue to have internet access, and with time to reflect, relax and recoup, I’ll try to share some of my more memorable experiences.


Advertisement



13th November 2009

Amy, It’s clearly taken me some time to comment (feels strangely public) but don’t be deceived – I have been staunchly following your blog. It makes me very happy when I open my inbox in the morning and find a travel blog message! I’ve missed you and am (selfishly) glad you’re coming home. Sounds like your experience has been amazing (except the sick part – although surly part of the experience). I’m already looking forward to hanging out, making dinner (maybe eating thanksgiving leftovers), and looking through all your pictures. I’m taking a test on Monday – and will have an extra celebratory beer on your behalf. Enjoy the beach time! (were all bundled up here in NY). See you soon!
13th November 2009

wonderful
Hi Amy! I've been following your travels through your blogs while you've been away and it sounds really amazing. I think sponsoring baby Grace is going to be as rewarding for you as it will be helpful for her. It's inspiring to know that you'll be changing her life and she doesn't even know it yet. Hope you have fun with the rest of your travels and I'll see you back in NYC soon! Writing from your room, V.
27th November 2009

..
Hi Amy, I love your blog. I am going out to Africa in March (after traveling South America). In england I run a business working with children, mainstream and special needs, so I really would like to volunteer to work with children. If you have any advice, contacts (especially real charities who could do with the help) it would be very very welcome. I'll keep on looking at your blog, I hope you have a continued fab time! Kirstie Reed x

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb