Day 5 : Final day - soaking up the experience in rain


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
December 28th 2009
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I woke up feeling good, thanks to the painkillers last night. The first thing I did was call up my parents in India to tell them that I managed to get my ass on the top. My mom sounded very excited. Cellular coverage was very impressive during my entire climb. I saw Ambrose texting at Uhuru Peak. If only mobile companies in US would visit developing countries and see for themselves how good the coverage is.

Then it was time to have a group photograph with my crew, pay the tip and listen to Jambo song/dance routine that other climbers were doing. My crew was really good - they seemed quite happy with the tip. I've heard hrror stories about how people have tipped more than 30% to guide/porters/cook and they were still dis-satisfied.

Uhuru peak and Mawenzi peak snuck out of clouds and I took a few snaps of sunrise. My apetite had a grand return, and after a heary breakfast, we left at 7:50. I picked up pace for first 1 hour, as my knee/legs felt very good. Thereafter, my right knee started hurting. Descent is usually tougher for me than the ascent, and it was teling. I slowed down and started enjoying the scenery. Everytime we crossed a major ridgeline, I found new set of trees/vegetation and soil color. At some places, soil was pitch black, or red or loamy brown. Probably a reminder of different phases of volcanic activity.

We reached Mandara @ 11:15 and met the Korean group and Tejas. I skipped lunch (wanted to have it at the Kilimanjaro Gate) and moved on. Tejas and few others had called for rescue (ie - be carried by a cart) because they all had sore legs. We were just 8-9 kms from the gate and I thought they could have stretched themselves a bit more to complete the whole trip on foot. Ambrose suggested that I too should ask for rescue (it was free). I almost felt offended, and picked up the pace. After sometime, he offered to carry my backpack - but I had to refuse .. and picked up pace once more.

It started raining once we entered the last leg of rain-forest. I didnt bother to wear a jacket to protect myself. Wanted to soak myself in the rain - my way of soaking the experience. Thankfuly it just drizzled, not poured. I met a few kids on the way, trying to sell me a chamaleon for 2 dollars. I took a couple of pics of them and gave them some money to buy chocolates.

We finally reached Marangu Gate (start of our hike) at 1:45. After 3 days of drinking chemically treated water (that had a distinct odor), I had been longing for Coca Cola (I rarely drink any soda .. but this in one time when I really longed for it). So as soon as I reached the gate, I ordered a bottle and gulped it within a few seconds. It was the best damn coke I ever had!

I collected my certificate, Ambrose celebrated the trip with a beer .. and we headed back soon.

In the car, I took my shoes off to assess the damage. I had lost 2 toe nails (one in each toe). It was hurting, but not too badly. I was just careless to not trim my nails before the trip. That would have hopefully prevented all the mess.

My guide John was there to welcome me at the hotel. I checked in, discussed my safari plans. John wanted me to rest for a day, but I insisted that I wanted to go for safari next morning. He finally fixed a group for me .. and I was excited about it.

I took a nap and then Ambrose came over to show me Arusha. we went to the bazaar, Indian market (some of the most wealthy traders in Tanzania are Indians), food market ... and "Center of Africa Square" (midpoint between Alexandria and Cape Town). There were lot of street hawkers selling grilled corn cobbs .. ("Bhutta" la india style) I grabbed one for myself.

I came back to hotel, had a quick dinner and finally met an american (yep - I had only met non-americans so far) couple. they too had climbed Uhuru a couple of days bac, and we shared our notes. They were going to safari next day, and then a trip to Uganda to see Gorillas and then to other cool places. My trip of 12 days seemed too short, when compared to theirs.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb