Week 1: Around the world in 6 days


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
August 1st 2014
Published: October 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


First entry of the trip. Though I should have started earlier.

It has been a hell of a week. I flew from KL to Amsterdam, where my flight to Edinburgh got cancelled. I had to queue for NINE hours just to rebook my tickets. Not an experience I want to repeat. At least they fed us food (cold ham baguette) and water.

When I finally arrived in Edinburgh (late at night as opposed to morning), I had to deal with my UK sim card. I then showered and slept, too tired to have dinner. PS: I got a business class seat to Edinburgh (the food was nice but the seats weren't that much different).

The next morning, I was so starved of food I felt dizzy the whole day, even though I forced myself to eat a bit of breakfast. I managed to settle my luggage storage issue, buy a pair of gloves and slippers, settle my bank stuff, sort of settle my Kilimanjaro and safari trip and print out confirmation details from the university library.

Even though the trip I'm planning is meant to be exciting and enjoyable, it has been very stressful organising it. Just as I was about to board the plane from London Heathrow to Dubai, I managed to settle everything. Yes, I flew from KL -> Amsterdam -> Edinburgh -> London and trust me, the story doesn't end here.

I got to Dubai and had to book a hotel as my transit time was ridiculously long. It was a 4* hotel, so I had a comfortable night and managed to Skype my parents, which was nice, although I sported a rather annoying headache. The next afternoon, I boarded a plane from Dubai to Nairobi.

When I arrived at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, I was surprised. It was my first time seeing cemented floorings in an airport. I was picked up by one of the workers from the Nairobi International Guest House. He was a really nice guy. Thomas showed me some buildings they had in Nairobi and told me about their government etc. They even have a 24 hour shopping centre there!

At the IGH, I met 3 other First Aid Africa volunteers from the Kenya placement. They had finished their placements and were travelling around Kenya and Tanzania. I had my dinner (it was so huge I couldn't finish it!) and chatted with them for a bit.

Tomorrow, I will be flying to the Kilimanjaro Airport and starting my safari tour. I have been stressing for so long that I can't be bothered to be stressed anymore. My plan is to just go with the flow and whatnot.



28/7-29/7 KL, Malaysia - Amsterdam, Holland

29/7 Amsterdam - Edinburgh, UK

30/7 Edinburgh - London, UK

31/7 London - Dubai, Saudi Arabia

1/8 Dubai - Nairobi, Kenya

2/8 Nairobi - Tanzania



6 days, 7 airports, 6 countries : not bad huh? for a week of travelling

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb