Campfires and church


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
August 15th 2010
Published: May 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's settled. Jeshua believes my hair is something from another planet. The two younger sisters, Mary and Maria, were playing with my hair when Jeshua hissed, "Acha! Acha!" meaning "leave it" or "stop."

Last night we had a group campfire on site, so people from all the quadrants got together, Callan brought marshmallows, nutella, and biscuits, and we made s'mores. John and I played the guitar and everyone sang. A few of us left the fire to star gaze. They're amazing. We saw so many shooting stars. We decided to have a group sleepover in the massive green tent on site, so eventually everyone trickled to their sleeping bags or shukas.

This morning I went to church with the family for the first time. It was a long service, and obviously I couldn't understand much, but it went by pretty fast. Everyone was very dressed up. There was more talking and less singing than I would have guessed. We had walked to the main road (a ten minute walk from Mama Mary's house) to get a dala dala because the church they go to is in Arusha. The mass was really similar to a Catholic mass in the U.S.

Guess what? I got proposed to! This 30 year-old man was at our house talking with mama. He couldn't remember my name for five minutes.. it's a Swahili word! He asked if I was single, and I told him I was but I wouldn't be getting married for at least 7 years. After he said he wanted to marry me, I peaced out. Turns out mama is a business lady and owns a dala dala. That was her friend that she hired to drive it for her. He already has two wives.. Mama said he was kidding when he asked. I believe otherwise..


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb