I miss the rains down in Africa...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
July 9th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What a long day. It started in Bangkok yesterday when I boarded my flight to Singapore. A four hour wait, and some excellent electronics shopping (including an underwater case for my IPOD Nano!) and I boarded the long flight to Joburg. It was a treat though with lie-flat beds and in-seat power for my laptop so I could get in a few episodes of ALIAS before I fell asleep for the rest of he flight.

Arriving in Joburg was strange because I had not been to SA in such a long time (normally I am there every few months). But more strange than that was going back through passport control to catch a flight out of Joburg to somewhere other than London!

The flight do Dar Es Salam was smooth and they served smoked Marlin as a starter, followed by Ostrich steak -- this is my kind of airline (SAA, by the way. A proud new member of Star Alliance.)

So now I sit, at half time of the World Cup Final, exchanging texts with my French friends in support of the bleus. I am too tired, through, to sit through the whole game so I will simply say, Alles les bleus!

In the next few days I am hoping to get some great pictures in one of the local game reserves, Selous for example, or perhaps the chimpanzee reserve, and will post them as soon as I can.

I will add one more quick note: As happy as I am to be back in Africa, I am missing SE Asia already. And Aga!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb