Day 23 - Stone town Zanzibar to Dar es Salem


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
December 4th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Owwwww!

We left at 8am on the bus and drove to Stone Town. It was another scorcher, but I was making sure to stay out of the sun after yesterdays over indulgence. When we arrived we had time to do some more shopping before catching the ferry. We went to the shop that Michelle had been enthusing about and I bought some presents and some bits for myself. I got a beautiful red dress and a little green bacg for myself which I fell in love with!

I didnt have the money with me so I went to a bank to get some travellers cheques changes. After 3/4 of an hour I was still waiting, so I went to a Bureau de Change and had them changed in the blink of an eyelid. I rushed back and got my purchases just as it started to rain. It threw it down so I sat talking to the shopkeeper until it went off a bit. I picked myself through the small riverlets in the street to a restaurant Michelle had recommended. I met Donna, Jen and Emily and had a gorgeous smoothie and an equally lovely fajhita. It was so lovely!

Then a quick stroll back to the Safari Lodge to pick up our bags before heading for the ferry. It was fairly simple to get back through customs and didnt take too long before we were sat on a very diesally smelling ferry. I fell asleep almost instantly but at one point I did feel the rough seas but I managed to stay mostly asleep, though some were being seasick.

Michelle and some of the others were going shopping but I was too hot and tired, so I and 6 others wnet back to the camp with Richard. We went back on the little ferry (survived agian) before taxis to Kipepeo (Butterfly) camp. Donna, Jen and I got a room together and settled into the bar with Stacey. I tried an extremely blue Indian Breeze mocktail, that turned my tounge blue and some strawbeey ice-cream. Later, following Stacey's lead I had 4 gorgoues spring rolls.

We watched the sun set over the Indian Oean for the last time and when the others arrived, cooked a beef stir fry (v. nice). I was looking at the stars through my bonoculars - the Pleadies, the M62 nebula in Orion's belt, Jupiter and Venus (which were close in the sky) and the Moon. I shower the others - the sky was great, so many stars. II am still amazed that the constallations from the Northern hempisphere (Orion and Taurus etc) are upside down!!

After gazing up, I retired to bed after a nice cool shower, It was so hot and difficult to sleep but I think I managed a better nights sleep than most.

Sally
xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0681s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb