Pre Christmas


Advertisement
Swaziland's flag
Africa » Swaziland » Mbabane
December 17th 2006
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Phew! I have just travelled from Ezulwini to Mbabane, a seemingly endless journey of only 25 minutes but 25 minutes of pure kombi hell. A kombi is a kind of minibus designed to supposedly seat 14 people, but there was at least 22 people of the one I was travelling, not including babies and baggage and in 35 degree heat and humidity, I'm really not a lady to be reckoned with! I am now enjoying basking in the luxury of air-con in the Internet Cafe trying to figure out how to condense my Swaziland experiences to one journal entry. It's going to be a challenge...advance apologies for excessive detail!!!

This week at the NCP has been hectic. It's the week leading up to Xmas so we planned lots of crafts, cake decorations and basically had a major glitter fest! We also arranged to take the children to Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary where we were chased by warthogs and ostriches! The children also had the opportunity to swim. Most had never swum before but didn't hold back. They jumped in, splashed around making the adults very nervous but they didn't care, they had the time of their lives. At the end of the week we gave out Xmas gifts to all the children and I actually had tears in my eyes. They were surprised to be receiving anything and so grateful. They whooped and screamed with laughter - I wish I had filmed it all.

That was a lovely end to my time at the NCP. Having been involved in so much, I still think the most rewarding of all has to be seeing the progress the children have made, both socially and academically since I arrived. I have witnessed first hand the hardship they face on a day-to-day basis and to see them overcome obstacles that many adults at home would stumble over is amazing. The almost constant smiles on their faces and the relentless enthusiasm they have for life is so enlightening and got to be one of my biggest memories of this experience. I'd love to stay longer to continue what I've started here but in reality it'll be a never-ending project. However, more volunteers will come bringing with them new ideas and enthusiasm to hopefully build on the foundations I have put in place.

Ok, that just about concludes this entry. I'm now off the battle the kombi's to get back to base, wish me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb