Christmas in June... In Sudan...


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The LAndcruiserThe LAndcruiserThe LAndcruiser

THis little baby will go ANYWHERE. I love this truck, even more than the NISSAN PATROL SUV's
Well, I got my first package from home today... it was like Christmas. No shit.

I got almonds, and HotRods, and dried fruit, and pancake mix, and soup mix, and noodles, and beef jerky...

It was heaven. I ate 3 hot rods right away before I remembered I should slow down, or they would go through me in a fashion that would make dysentery look like a pleasant option. So I ate some almonds instead. I think I got my monthly intake of sodium in about 5 seconds. Sweet. Thank you Mom & Dad!

I also was part of a Torit-town patrol today as well, so we made a few stops around town for some information, then parked the car and walked through the market and throught the streets to "show the UN flag" so to speak. I took some pictures and posted them for you to see what the market is like. Really, you can't apprecite the market until you smell it though... WOW. Pretty grim by Canadian standards.

I also picked up Yannick Sevigny, a fellow Canadian UNMO, that is new to Torit. I HAVE A NEW FRIEND!
He lives next door, and it
The roads.The roads.The roads.

This is why we need landcruisers. It also hasn't rained in 2 days.
will be nice to have someone to share meals and jokes with. He is from Quebec as well, so I will also have chance to practice my french language skills. JE SUIS UN PAMPLEMOUSSE...
See? I'm getting better already.

Anyhow, Pictures are worth a thousand words, so here ya go.

Cheers.

Don






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Women 1Women 1
Women 1

The strength of the women here is amazing.
Little guy at the beer store.Little guy at the beer store.
Little guy at the beer store.

This guys started trying to climb my leg when he saw the camera. Kids are kids in any country.
Market 3Market 3
Market 3

The two women in the center-left of the picture are caryrinf children on their backs in slings, with the little feet poking around their waist. They do all their work with kids strapped on to themselves...
KarlaKarla
Karla

This is Karla, she knows our interpreter, Marino, and has a beautiful smile. She sells onions too.
Women 2Women 2
Women 2

These women do ALL the work. It seems very unfair. They haul wood, water, pots and bundles on their heads, while carrying kids on their backs. And we have nannies. Seriously.
The Airport PosseThe Airport Posse
The Airport Posse

Another pack 'o dogs
Tibal MapTibal Map
Tibal Map

The map shows Tribes in yellow, and their associated areas...


19th June 2007

MBWk 3.0
Dude, we just wrapped up day one a Whistler and everyone had a blast. Missing you and wishing you were here with us. Thanks so much for calling during the wedding...it was awesome and meant a lot. Can't wait for you to get home. KZ and the CoWlective.
21st June 2007

These pics are beautiful. I can't wait to see more. xo
27th June 2007

Howdy
Hey Don, thanks for the pics, they are super-bon (I'm helping with your french). Your presence was missing on MBWk 3 for sure. No one had the same desire as you to capture all the riding and tom-foolery on camera. Thanks for the use of the camera though, there is some sweet helmet cam footage from Fromme and some from Whistler! Good times.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb