13,364 km from home...


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 7, 2007 - Torit, Sudan

I have settled into my new "home." I have chosen to live in the UN Camp, as it provides much more in the way of security and infrastructure than the other places I saw today.

I was picked up by an Egyptian Major, Tamer Goda, and taken around to see the accommodation possibilities around town. For $20/night, I could have a 12x10 room, with a clapboard door, locked on the outside by padlock, with electricity only from 7-10pm. Did I mention the bed was a double? ya, no thanks.

So I chose the UN option, for $30/night and that will give me 24 hour electricity, armed guards, and flushing toilets, and sometimes hot showers. Oh, but the bed is only a single... ha.

Anyway, things here are going to be INTERESTING. I went to the afternoon briefing yesterday and imagine if you will, people from Ecuador, Paraguay, Egypt, Jordan, Yemen, Mali, Nigeria, Rwanda, Namibia, Netherlands, and Thailand all trying to converse in their second language. Very interesting.

I think the people will be the best part of this mission, as getting to know people from around the world is always an educational and enlightening experience, and I look forward to getting to know my teammates better.

I will initially be working for the G2 cell, which is responsible for "Information" (known outside the UN as Intelligence) We will have two briefings per day, 0900 and 1600, and my section is responsible for providing updates to the Information situation, including requests for further information about ceasefire violations, investigating violent crime, and coordinating with the G3 section (Operations) to ensure their patrols are going to the required places and asking the right questions. I think this may be easier said than done.

Anyhow, I'm going to try and upload some photos, but the internet at the Team Site is RIDICULOUSLY slow... it takes over a minute to load the hotmail page.

Keep your fingers crossed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The Gas StationThe Gas Station
The Gas Station

The gas station is a gas-powered pump that pumps diesel from the soft bladders in the background
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home

My new digs...
Inside the house...Inside the house...
Inside the house...

Right out of MTV cribs...


7th June 2007

Loving your updates
That room doesn't actually look to bad. But how's the toilet situation? Thinking about you lots :)
8th June 2007

The pink rug is a nice touch...it looks an awful lot like the colour scheme that I've chosen for the living room. ;)
11th June 2007

Mate. The room looks like a treat. Coming down there with Duane McDonald, we're 2 Aussie UNPOLs. We speak a version of the queens engligh, hopefully we'll be able to understand each other. Can you reserve us a couple of rooms. I like green rugs, or maybe something in a blue.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb