Canada House


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
April 11th 2010
Published: April 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The PoolThe PoolThe Pool

A nice way to beat the heat for a while.
The majority of my time the past week and for the next while has been spent in and around Canada House or around the city. Canada house is a large 5 store house that has been divided into various “apartments” and common areas. The main floor houses our gym facilities and a common area with big screen TV and eating area. A step down from the main floor is the staff area for the national support element of the mission. The four floors above has apartments which each have their own kitchen, bathrooms, common area, and shared rooms with 1-4 beds per room. I am living in one of the two UNMO transient quarters. Currently I have a room to myself but this is likely to change as there are a few guys coming up for the end of their tours and nobody is leaving in the near future.

Life in CH is simple. Everybody is on a slightly different routine as we are all in a different phase of our tour. At the moment there are 4 of us on initial training, one here for work, and one on his end tour phase. We have internet computers in one of the common areas, and in the evening we usually have wireless access. Generally a lot of movies are watched, there is a significant video library which we have access to while we are here. Otherwise time is spent cooking, reading, or packing for the next phase of our tour. As well we have vehicles available if we want to go shopping or out for a coffee. It is really quite comfortable here in Khartoum. I suspect this many not be the case in the South once I get to my team site.

Since arriving I have been able to keep myself relatively busy. The first few days was getting to know the immediate area around CH and our UN HQ. I have made my way to the local ALFA Mall, as well as a few restaurant’s and coffee shops. It is nice being able to go out for a served meal and spend less than $10CDN.

On Friday (Equivalent of Saturday) we went to the Canadian embassy to make use of their pool and garden area. It was nice and relaxing taking a dip in some clean relatively cool water. Back at CH we had a group BBQ , and topped the day off with a bit of poker. It was a good day. Saturday was my lazy day around the house, other than a brief trip to the mall to pick-up some food. I made my first real meal with a mediocre pass. Apparently when you make curry you should use one can of tomato sauce not one can of tomato paste....oops, next time I will get it. I am sure I will get lots of practice.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



12th April 2010

Also on my way to Sudan
Steve, I will be following your blog as you settle into life in Khartoum - since I am beginning to think about my own upcoming Sudanese adventure. I will be moving to Sudan at the end of July to teach at an international school in the capital. Wish you luck!
12th April 2010

I will only be in Khartoum for another week or so, the majority of my time will be spent in the south. But it should give good overall picture of the issues in Sudan.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb