Some Elephants


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
September 13th 2012
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -24.7805, 26.2697

This afternoon I went for a drive with Paul to Abjaterskop Gate to pick up staff who were coming back from leave. I enjoy going along for this drive, as it gives me a chance to see animals and get out of the staff village. The drive to the gate is about one hour each way. Half way between our lodge and the gate is Vlei Pan- this is usually a great place to see animals. The animals frequent here as for most of the year fresh water is pumped into the pan. Unfortunately for me today, the sightings were not that great. The only animals we saw was a small herd of impalas, a giraffe and a few birds. We continued on to the gate.

Once we had collected the staff, we turned around and went back towards the lodge. I noticed how dry the bush was and I hoped for the animals sake that the rain would come soon.

As we came close to arriving back to the lodge, we noticed an elephant that was walking towards the road. We stopped to watch it flap its ear and slowly walk towards us.

Ten minutes later we came across a breeding herd of elephants. They were eating the dry grass and only metres from the vehicle. It was now getting dark, so we went back to the lodge. It was nice for me to get out of the lodge and I really enjoyed the drive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb