end of the beginning


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape
August 20th 2010
Published: August 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a week this has been.....I have been flooded with emotions and overwhelming amazement at the South Africans I work with from day to day. We have talked a lot this week about apartheid and post-apartheid South Africa. We got to meet a man named Themba who facilitates healing workshops around the community and uses art, music, poetry, etc to get South Africans to talk about apartheid, and then work on forgiveness...That is the part that kills me. This is such a young nation, really (for those who don't know, apartheid only ended in 1994), and I just can't wrap my head around how so many people, especially the black South Africans, have forgiven their former oppressors. I asked one of the mamas this the other day, and she told me "I cannot live with hate in my heart. If I do that, I will live as terribly as I did during apartheid"... How is it that places that hold some of the greatest sadness also hold such magic?! I don't know what else to call it, but this place is magic....

Today was my last day at Sibongile's. I FINALLY took a few photos of the precious little guys I've been hanging out with these past three weeks. I will try to post a few here (this computer is SLLLLOOOOWWWW)...I will miss watching their daily progress and their smiley faces when they catch your eye first thing in the morning. Once again, I have learned that ANYTHING is possible with a little foam, velcro, cardboard, and duct tape! Hence, Lindokule's new seating system - now the mamas can feed him through his PEG sitting upright - I'm so excited (and more importantly, so are they!) Today was also my last full day with all my CCS friends and the staff here (who are IMPECCABLE and of course have become more like friends than "staff"). I feel like I've known them all far longer than 3 short weeks. I will miss my time in the townships, our morning drives and our driver's whistling (same driver who turns the radio up every time I start to sing), our group meals, evening laugh attacks, Xhosa lessons, and weekend dance fests, but am SO SO grateful to have met everyone and spent this time together.

My friend from LA, Joclynn, arrived in Cape Town on Wednesday. Starting tomorrow, she and I are off and running - we'll be exploring the Garden Route, the Winelands, and of course, Kruger National Park for safari. Will keep you posted as often as possible. I have NO idea what internet access will be available through the next 2 weeks.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb