Back in the Sedge, planning travelling :D


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
June 28th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

...and its pouring (again) and cold, poop!! Quite strange being back here. Since last time, I had to say bye to Monkey and Tash, and I'm gunna have to say byes to Flip today!! Most of the worst ones over, Chris and Iona are gunna be harsh, but as maw said, its not goodbye forever, and I will see these ones again, I know it :D

Soooooooooo, that evening after I'd blogged it up in Potch, we didn't do much - I was in a pretty bad mood cuz I'd spent most of the day on the internet and there was little phone reception and we had no idea if we were actually leaving the next day or not, but I chatted to Iona and felt a bit better, then went in and watched Flip and Maricelle and Henk and Tash and Willie play poker in the kitchen, was funny, I was DJ :D was horrible not knowing whether or not we were leaving though!!

The next day (Mon 22nd) was a hectic morning, me and Iona packed just in case we had to leave, and spent a long time trying to get through to Alida!! Me and Flip sorted out Monkey's first aid kit (daaaaamn!!) :p and generally frittered about. Me and Iona went along the dirt road to the Venterskroon info centre, and watched a 13min dvd on the Vredfort Dome (sp?!) meteorite - would have been interesting if I had been able to focus!! Went back, and finally got through to Alida and she said she'd try and book us a but asap, so we hoyed all out luggage in the thuli just in case when we went in to town. Was an awesome day, spent a lot of time with Monkey, we bought biltong and CD's and her a nice tartan hoodie :D met up with Iona and we went to the the "Ghost of Girlfriends Past" at the cinema, was an intersting film, actually made a lot of sense!! There's an awesome quote from it, "Love makes you weak, dependant and fat" which we all found hilarious - better not be true!! :p was sad though, Iona's friend's friend had died and she was pretty upset 😞 we got pizza afterwards, Monkey bought me a milkshake and we hoyed it to the bowling alley!! Was so funny, I get so competitive :p was doing awesome til I went to comfort Iona, missed 5 of my 10 shots and Monkey and Tash had managed to completely miss like 3 times for me!! Too funny, managed to redeem myself a little though :p played Iona at pool, then went back to paaaaaarty for my farewell!! Was kool, we played "Ring of Fire", safe to say we were all worse for wear within an hour, I managed to go over my ankle again :S and that was the infamous night that Chris broke my bed!! Dear God... me and Monkey had just got in to bed and Chris came in, I was on a middle bunk and luckily all my stuff was on the bunk underneath me - Chris climbed up on to my bed to give me a hug, and the whole think broke!! Daaaaamn, I was lucky not to get injured!! The wooden beam just broke, and the sheet of aluminium bent, and apparently he just fell straight down but I kina of rolled off, luckily my stuff broke the fall!! It was lucky the sheet didn't hit Monkey in the face, her bunk was at right angles to mine and she was on the bottom. Too funny!!

23rd - another hectic morning, we knew we were leaving that day but just weren't sure when!! Spent ages trying to get through to Alida, eventually got it sorted with enough time to re-pack!! Spent a lot of time chatting to people, they wrote in my book, had to say a maybe goodbye to Flip cuz we weren't sure if we would see him in Sedgefield, that was horrible. Tash is good with goodbyes and not too outwardly emotional which made things easier, but Monkey was worse than I was!! Henk drove us to the bus stop, me and Monkey bought apples and sweets and were just trying to avoid the subject, we'd alrady talked it through so much the past few days, but it just came to a head. Its bad enough crying, but when you see your friend or family member cry for you its heartbreaking. Least I know I'll see Tash again next year :D and hopefully see Monkey soon... so we got on the bus, was a decent bus journey actually considering the length, Greyhound buses are so much better!! Watched lots of movies, including Grease :p there was space to take up 2 seats to sleep as well.

24th - When we got to Bellville, the stewardess told us just to stay on til Cape Town, so we did!! We got there and got the metro (which isn't anywhere near as bad as people said) :p to Stellenbosch, spent a long time chatting about random stuff to one of the policemen, was kool!! It was pouring with rain, and we managed to find a backpackers quickly, which was kool, the "Stumble Inn", got settled, went out and I went to the Stellenbosch museum, really interesting buildings, and Iona went to an art gallery. We wandered around, bought some food (cheap soup all the way!!) we tried to find a chocolate shop but there was none, so we bought Chloe wine and went back to the backpackers, ate, and went out!! Just went to Cape To Cuba, an awesome cocktail place, there's one in Long Street as well, and a local pub for cheap red wine. There was a fire, it was nice. Went back to the backpackers, I fell asleep in the lounge :p and went to bed.

25th - we didn't hear from Maria, so decided to stay in Stellies that day as well - we went on an hour-long wine tour, actually did it properly this time and got slagged off by some Scottish People for it!! Tried the most awesome desert wine ever, was so tempted to buy some!! Went and explored Stellies more, went to the Nature Reserve with a twisty path (me and Iona impromptu wrote a poem) and a playpark, and saw some of the university buildings (its a university town). Its a really quaint place actually, glad we went. Hoyed cheap soup again for lunch, then got the train to Cape Town then Claremont to meet Chloe!! Was so kool to see her again. We got the train to her place, then spent the evening catching up with choc and popcorn and wine, looked at photos, spoke to mum and Roy which was nice 😊 and watched GI Jane which was awesome, then slept.

26th - was difficult to wake up (we had curtains!!) :D Chloe went to work, and me and Iona had been told to make ourselves at home so we did, watched "Pretty Woman" (ugh) made brekkie, and got the train to see the CapeStorm factory outlet cuz Iona wanted to see it. It was a bit rubbish, so we didn't stick around - got the train back to Claremont to meet Chloe for lunch, had some dim sum, was v nice!! Saw her new work, 7 summits, a mail-order/shop, got coffee, tried to book a bus but failed. Looked a a book fair, bought chicken biltong (it wasn't that great) and got the train to Observatory to go to City Rox, the indoor climbing wall - was awesome!! Quite small but fun, the guys were friendly (Iona had to do a 'belay test' hehe) some of the climbs were pretty hard tho!! So glad I got to do that, really wanted to do the massive one in Durban but that one sufficed :p got the train back to meet Chloe, and went back to hers and her mum made us dinner 😊 Chloe's cousin had arrived by this point, Lauren, she was kool. We went and bought steri stumpies (awesome chocolate milk, Rose and Maricelle and Iona have got me hooked!!) and went to Oblivion to meet Chloe's work mate Mark and his ex-wife, they were kool!! Played 'I Have Never' in the middle of the place, so awesome :p then Chloe took us to all the gay places she likes, was an experience!! Not as pumping as I thought they would be though. Me and Iona didn't get hit on at all, we were shocked and appalled :p went bacl and read the news about Michael Jackson, bloomin heck!! Chatted to Chloe, then went to sleep.

27th - had to say bye to Chloe!! She went to work, and her mum took me and Iona to the bus station, was awesome of her - she's an intimidating woman, but friendly. Chloe's house is so nice as well, all stone and big rooms. Me and Iona managed to book a bus for the evening with Translux, and managed to convince the InterCape people to hold our bags for us!! :D too good. Wandered around, went up to District 6 area, went to the library, chatted to a crazy lady who was totally against the Irish and people using the toilet :p bought a R3 Vynal which I lost, gutted!! Beethoven, had Moonlight and Apassionata, poop. Went to the Castle, which totally wasn't a proper castle!! On flat land, the door was in the ocean and the gunpower room had flooded!! However, the military museum was interesting, found the Cape of Good Hope Highlanders Battalion, got a pic of their kilted uniform :D saw some kool art stuff and climbed up the bell-tower, went and got fish and calamari chips, was awesome!! And went back to pickwicks for the last time for milkshakes, tin roof and frangelio and chai shake, too good. Went to the Irish Pub to watch the rugby - I was convinced we had it, then we got beat in the last 10secs!! Was ridiculous. Ran to get our bus, got apples, and it was a hellish bus journey!! Tranlux are crap, ridiculously hot, and no movies or coffee!! Met a kool guy though sitting opposite me called Berno, chatted to him while Iona slept. Made the hellish journey more interesting having someone to talk to!! The bus nearly abandoned me at one of the stops, too funny. Got to Sedge eventually, nearly slept through it though!! Flip was gunna meet us then but fell asleep, we managed to get in to base and had cereal, I wrote my diary then went to bed about 3. Daaaamn!!

And today, Flip woke us up about half 8!! Was so kool to see him again and say bye properly (though he's not away just yet!!) Hoyed a shower and made brekkie, met Danika (an instructor who's just returned to OB) she's kool!! Chatted, listened to music while it rained, spoke to the family :D well jealous of Centre Parcs, haha!! Tidied stuff up, and came here to try and plan a bit. Think we're gunna go hiking, if we can!!

Don't know when I'll speak to you guys next, but soon, anyway. Take care!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



6th November 2010

Missing you
Hey there Lynn! I finally got around to reading your blog...Miss you here in SA!

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb