3 months!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

...yea, realised that its 3 months today that I left!! Seems like so much longer, to be honest. Crazy stuff. It really has been surreal of late, its pretty hectic, but I'm managing. Apparently me and Iona and Natasha are supporting a course in Sedgefield this week (if me and Natasha get our kayaking LOC's!!) then going to Grabouw then Potch. Whether or not this actually happens, we've yet to see, but oh well!! I was so annoyed, because yesterday, I was THIS CLOSE to getting my kayaking LOC. I braced fine, but he made me do soooo many rolls, and I didn't make it out the first time every time, so he kept making me do it again, and it got quite tiring. So the last thing I had to do was to go out in to the middle of the water, stick my paddle behind my back, and roll out... I didn't make it up the 1st time... or 2nd time... or 3rd... and eventually I had to wet exit, it was just hot happening, and the really frustrating thing was that Chris was sitting near Fuller and Deon at the time and Deon had said that if I had got out the 3rd time, he would have given me my LOC. But I didn't. I'm soooooooo cheesed of about it, cuz I just did not have a good day today, kept muckig it up. And I really want this LOC, because I can't support courses without it!! And I'm already more than half way through my time here, so I really want it, but I just can't seem to get it, and if I'm feeling down, I can't seem to perform as well... argh, life's frustrations!!

But, things can only get better from here, I'm sure :D

So after I came on here last on the day G&G left (Tuesday 14th) I headed back to base and we all went to George in the Beach Buggie!! We managed to fit 6 of us in... me, Iona, Natasha, David, Chris and Pieter. I had the good seat, in the middle on the floor, so I didn't get cold on the way back :p it was a kool afternooon actually. We dropped Iona and Natasha at the embassy in George, cuz they want to stay longer so are trying to extend their visa or get a working visa, but by the time we got there it was shut. Sooooooo we hoyed it to the George Mall, and decided to see the new fast and the furious movie. It was good actually, nice bit of action, nice to not have to actually think about what was happening!! Pure cars :p before that though, we ran to buy chocolate from Pick N' Pay, and while me and Pieter were waiting for everyone else to come out, I was on his back and we accidently managed to kick over the big easter bunny outsde the chemists... G&G will remember it... oops :p after the movie the guys wanted a McDonalds so I sampled an oreo cookie McFlurry, it was awesome!! Went to La Piazza cuz the guys wanted pizza, I wasn;t hungry so was watching the footy (Chelsea and Liverppool) and was chatting to the manager, guy called Gary, really nice, and he bought me and Iona a drink, which was nice 😊 we went back after that and I spoke to my Roy on our anniversary 😊 and went to the bus station with David, who was leaving to see his sister!! And walked Nadia back from her bus, as it got in just before David's left :p and went to sleep.

Wednesday - got up a bit earlier than I've been used to :p and we had to all count the rations in the rations room, was a bit of a task!! Booked an appointment with the OB doctor, as I've been having womanly issues (I'll leave it at that) :p and we all had a group chat with Deon about Harrismith (I just sat and listened) it was quite interesting what some people had taken out of their experience there. Had some lunch, then went to the doctor, who was a very nice lady, dr read or reeves or something. I had to fill out some crazy form, was quite funny, totally didn't know which address to fill in - Sedgefield or Stirling!! :p so, after a urine test, we decided that everything was fine and I wasn't to worry about anything, and that your cycle gets mucked up anyway when you travel and are under stress and your exercise/diet changes etc, and she gave me some vitamins. But all is well 😊 went back and we did some canoeing for the first time - I high-braced in the canoe for the first time, its a bit different from kayaking, more aggressive!! But kool, all the same. Me and Natasha went to the gym, was fun, but I think my muscles needed breaking in gently again!! I bought apples :D and showered and put on the DIFFERENT CLOTHES that G&G brought out, it felt goood!! Spoke to my Roy, then went to sleep.

Thursday - got up early for PT, only to be told it wasn't actually happening until later that day!! We were already in all our wet clothes from yesterday, sucked!! Felt a bit down, so had huggles with people and soon felt better 😊 we went over some stuff from the yellow book, that we needed to know, and we all built a raft, with Iona and Natasha muted and Pieter and Chris blindfolded!! Was hilarious actually, the raft wasn't great, but it made me realise that I need to take control in these kind of situations, I was trying to let other people do it and it wasn't happening :p had lunch, then me and Natasha did 2 abseil set-ups so we could all practice the z-drag, for rescuing someone who's fainted or whatever on the abseil. Went down to the water, and we had to do the awesome 4-sum swim, but with a partner - I ended up with Themba, who can't swim yet!! He had his life-jacket on, and we were soooo slow, it was unbelievable. But a good experience, and he made it to the end!! We then treaded water without hands for 15mins, it was crazy, but we managed quite well 😊 went back. Checked eeee-mails, then Chris tried to win me a bunny out of the soft-toy machine, but failed :p went back to base and had AWESOME fish, its so much better when Nicki cooks!! (She's the secretary, but she cooks when Charlene is off) and me and Iona got some Scottish dancing on the go, we had a bit of a rave, reminded me of Grabouw and RT's speakers!! Class 😊 spoke to mum and Ailsa and G&G :D, wrote my diiiiiiary, then slept.

Friday - I had found a duvet at base, so slept under that - was sooooo much better man!! I slept braw :p (Just need a duvet-cover now!!) read some yellow book/newspaper/Iona's first aid book, then Deon had another question-answer session with us, went over the easiest ways to pack the backpacks with students, and how to dig and cover toilets :p and Gary, the La Piazza manager that me and Iona were talking to the other night, dropped off curtains for us!! Seriously, we'd mentioned that we didn't have curtains, and he got some for us, how awesome is that. We just need to wait for Monday for William to come back so we can get hooks, but that was sooo nice of him!! Then, that was the time that I nearly got my kayaking LOC... my life would be so much better if I'd got it that day 😞 ach well eh. We then hoyed it to the boathouse after lunch to go over some Whaler stuff, there's so much to that thing its unreal!! I definitely do not understand it, but it doesn't really matter, its not like I'm going to be an instructor!! Went for a run, I really need to get focused, I stopped on the big hill and I don't know why... I'm going to go tomorrow I think, and make myself finish it, cuz I can't let my emotions control my physical ability to do stuff. Did some sit-ups, had a shower/dinner, then we had quite a fun night actually, Nadia bought me a cider for trying so hard with the kayaking :p went to Spar to buy marshmallows for the fire, but it was raining so hard last night that the fire went out!! There was a power cut in spar for like 10secs, it was crazy. So much lightning as well!! Then we all played spin the bottle, it was hilarious!! It was kool, I got all the banter, while only being kissed on the cheek (don't worry Roy, I didn't let them anywhere near me) :p Iona and Nadia got sooooo drunk it was unbelievable. We dared Chris to go up to Fullers room and propose marriage, it was hilarious, but I think we're going to pay for the joke tonight, heard on the town rumour-mill that she's got a horrible surprise up her sleeve for us now... will have to wait and see!! Ooooh, got Gemma's letter and CD, its awesome btw!! Its so funny that you guys are listeningto the same stuff that we listen to out here. Thanks so much Gemma!!

Today, got up at 6 as I was DP and had to open the gate 😞 went back to bed, then got up again as we had another kayaking session, no market for me today 😞 and just wasn't feeling positive at all, so didn't perform well. It sucked so much. My bombproof roll just wasn't working, we tried everything, but it just wasn't happening. Got there towards then end, but I had a talk with Deon and Fuller afterwards, because I really feel like I'm struggling with things right now, Fuller reckons I'm going through the 3-month homesickness phase, apparently that's when its the worst. But I know I want to stay, and I'm learning so much, it would be stupid to throw that away. It'll get better in a few weeks, I know it 😊

Love and miss you all tonnesssssssssssssssssssssssssss 😊 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



18th April 2009

Cheer up!
"When the going gets tough the tough get ready to go, go, GO!" I don't mean 'leave' but get going - you know it's a once in a life time opportunity and we're all sooooooooooo proud and jealous of all the things you're doing. CHEER UP! PLLLLLLLLLLEASE! Love you lots, Mum.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
19th April 2009

CD
Glad you got it - the guy at the post office was a bit dodgy and I was worried it wouldn't come...! Missing you mate, but chin up!! Love Gemma xxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb