Roooooooll!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
March 10th 2009
Published: March 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Guess what I did todaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay?!?! :p :D 😉

(I rolled, finally, incase you hadn't guessed)

It was the easiest roll, the pilates roll, but still!! I nearly got the normal roll as well, but not quite, that's the aim for tomorrow. I did however, manage to burst my lip totally in the process - I attempted the normal roll, came up but didn't get the full way, fell down again, tried to pilates roll out but had run out of breath and was panicking so I couldn't do it so I wet exited and somehow, managed to hit my paddle off my lip and it burst, I think it hit the bottom and the other end hit my mouth. Anyway, I didn't think it was that bad, but apparently when I came up all you could see was blood running down my face so everyone was like OMG GET OUT because its a possible shark area apparently, so I tried to get my boat and paddle and they were all like NO JUST GET OUT!! So I did :p and had to wash out my mouth with mingin liquid disinfectant, it was gross, wasn't allowed back in the water after that (for once!!) so I had to sit around for an hour and a half until everyone was done. I had company though, because Nadia was having terrible cramps and Natasha has possibly torn ligaments in her ankle (and other people were just hanging around not wanting to get in the water cuz the salt up the nose is horrible!!)

Its such a relief to have it, I mean its not perfect and I can't do it 100% confidently, but its a start!! Iona is doing really well, she's got the normal one and managed the bomb-proff roll once - they're getting her to do her LOC's early, and get her out on the field soon, really proud of her!! Its a bit frustraiting for me as well though, seeing her getting to whizz through, but she is a much better kayaker and swimmer, so its fair enough. Rolling is such a kool thing to be able to do though, it does feel sooooooo good!!

So today, we all got woken up at 6 for PT, we thought it was at half 6!! Went for sprints :D:D:D and a dip, then headed down for kayaking after breakfast. Hoyed the kayaks back up and had lunch, then spent the afternoon going over the rox/abseil set-ups, was quite boring but good, because I realised that I was doing one of the knots in the abseil set-up wrong!! Went for a power-walk, as my body is killing me slightly, and went down to the beach - was nice to go down and watch the waves and walk in the sea and get the tired feet wet, nice to get some alone time too!! Living with like 14 or 15 people is a bit hectic. Came back and had dinner, Kieran called :D I was on kitchen clean-up today though so had to do that, lucky for me I'm the one on toilet duty too, so I'll do that when I get back... :p

SO, what have I been up to of late? Thurs evening (5th) Chris made a braaaaaai, it was awesome!! I helped the trainees learn knots, and we headed to the garage to buy junk food as a treat, they had a sweet little deal on chocolate bars :p oooh, yea, the reason we're not in Grabouw is because there's been really bad fires round the Cape Town area, and we've lost our rox and abseil sites (the ones I learned on!!) 😞 up there - hope the community is ok!! so we're cracking on with the training here (for now, anyway...)

Friday was Nadia's bday!! Got up and went for my run, took 1/2 an hour, will try it faster soon. We went over knots, then cut out new groundsheets for the tents. We then went up to the boathouse and paddled the kayaks allllll the way back to the beach just out the back of Upendi (our building we live in) was awesome!! Really good paddle. After lunch. me and Iona and Natasha had to calculate stuff with the Outward Bound phone bill... if I hear the numbers 1.456 or 3.308 or 2.481 or 5.789 or 6.616 again, I may implode... (that's not liong we spent on it, I can still remember the standard call rates!!) I did some awesome sums (my brain still works) then went for my awesome 4-sum sprints ( a training session Deongave us) was soooo good. Then did some yoga with Nadia, was relaxing, then I got money off people and we went and bought her cake and wine and a card and fudge and came back and celebrated!! Went out for dinner to La Piazza (where we went on V-day) - I am never having chicken and mussels on a pizza again :p Natasha tried ice-cream for the first time in her life and liked it!! Went to Filo's and played pool, I beat RT :D and then went back. Chris found out one of his mates had died, was so upset 😞

Sat I was DP (duty person) so I had to get up at 6 and open the gate and door!! Went back to bed for a bit, then we all went to the market!! Was sooooo good, finished pressie-buying I think :D got some peaches as well :D:D:D came back and me and Natasha went to Chris's house to chill (he lives in Sedgefield) was so nice to be in a house again, seriously!! We dipped in his pool and made proper food :D came back and chilled. Spoke to Roy 😊

Sun I got up early and went for a massi run up a few massi hills, was really refreshing!! Me and Natasha went with Chris and his mum and sis to George, to get him and Natasha water shoes - but they didn't have size 14s and Natasha wanted to shop around George, so we left her there and went to Mossel Bay to get Chris shoes - Mossel Bay is gorgeous, seriously!! My camera died though 😞 went back to George and got to play on the awesome music shop's piano again :D had lunch and got a nice cheap t-shirt, then came back, want to the beach and came back and had a braai, was awesome!! Spoke to maw and Roy and Kezzle 😊 was a good night.

Mon - did another awesome 4-some for PT, then in the morning we went over boring stuff like driving policies within OB and RAMS forms (Risk Analysis Management Systems) went to the water and attempted rolls, and did some lifesaving, was good banter!! Cuz I'd done itbefore I found it really easy, you need to know waaaaay more for pool lifeguarding than you need to know out here. Surprisingly, I won the competition to stay capsized in your kayak for longest, 34s, oh yes. Bcak to the water after lunch 😞 did some swimming, I was rubbish at it, I hate swimming in strong currents, I panic. Will improve though!! Went back and met Ted, an instructor, he's pretty kool. Then we went to the gym!! Sedgefield's gym is a tad sketchy, no treadmill!! And I was doing exercises I do at home on different machines, was funny. Did spinning for the first time though, that was awesome!! I span too fast and nearly chopped chunks of my shins out though, so did loads of people!! Fuller is going to work out programmes for us for while we're in Sedgefield :D Chilled in the evening, bought a Roobies tea bar, was interesting!! Played in a poker tournament at the pub next door, and got tired so went all in so I could get to bed 😊 read granny's letter :D

Today was been a kool day, I think the kayak roll helped a lot :D lovelove xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



10th March 2009

Well Done!!
You go girl! Well done I knew you'd do it - or drown trying!!!! Thankfully you're still here and have suceeded in rolling the ****** thing. Hope the lip's O.K. Watch out your Roy's been at the gym - 3 times a week! Mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0534s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb