Dolphins and Whales


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Plettenberg Bay
September 5th 2006
Published: September 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey there,

The dolphins and whales were such an amazing experience that I thought I would put the pictures on its own page and those of you that wanted to see them could.

The experience was unforgettable.

The pictures don't really look like much until they are maximized. I originally made this page because I wanted to put the video on it, but the webpage does not support my format which is really too bad because I have some amazing footage that pictures just can't capture. Those suckers are capital F-A-S-T, hard to catch on camera. Being there was magical. They liked the boat being there and totally played and frolicked with us. They would actually come up beside the boat and visit. It was scary when they went under the boat though, I didn't want them to get hurt. There is nothing like cruising alongside 20 or so dolphins.

We also saw a whale and her calf playing but I was too seasick to take pictures or video by that time. After two hours in 5-7 foot swells, my stomach said "get to shore".

Oh well, I can show you in 10 months when I get home........... : )

That still sounds weird - but good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



6th September 2006

a couple of tears
WOW. I am so impressed. Feeling quite emotionally actually. Heidi...you are such a good writer and NO, I beleive we can see JUST what your saying about your new friend Howard. My comments will include your last blog (not just the whales). Whales are awesome. I can't wait to read more about your trip. I feel like I'm submersed into a great novel that I can't put down. Above all I am so proud of you and Jordan. You are doing amazing things and I love that I get to share in it....just a bit. May the universe be kind to you all the way.
6th September 2006

Very cool
Cool pics!! I saw a Bullhead whale today as well. But yours look much happier. The one I saw was part of a native whale hunt in Prudoe Bay. Yikes !! If you see any stingrays, look but don't touch!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb