The Garden Route - Outdshoorn


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Oudtshoorn
June 11th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

West of Capetown from Mossel Bay to Plettenberg Bay lies "The Garden Route." You could make months of holidaying out of just seeing this bit of coastline which boasts the world's highest bungee, whale watching, shark diving, famous surf beaches and heaps more stuff that I can't be bothered listing. However, I only had a few days to spend in this bit of the world and needed to choose one place. After surveying the bar at the hostel I decided to get the "Baz bus" (backpacker travel bus) to Outdtshoorn - the ostrich capital of the world.

Turned out to be a riot. I learned a lot about Ostriches. I even rode one. Unfortunately, I have no evidence. (This is what happens when you leave a pom in charge of the camera - sorry El) I also had an Ostrich steak. I also managed to ride a horse and a quad bike. The gorgeous girl that took us horse riding wanted to know if I watched McLeod's daughters, she said she watched it every night on Hallmark. Made me laugh.

I also did an Adventure Tour at Cango Caves. I got to squeeze myself into impossibly small spaces including
OstrichesOstrichesOstriches

They have a very flexible neck...
climbing up a chimney with no footholds. However, I can say I did it!

I saw the sites of Oudtshoorn with two english lovies (Ellie and Clare), an american chick (Devon) and crazy English Kelvin (mad man that is doing Cape to Cairo.) You could liken a bit to a country town but with a very European feel, Afrikaans the spoken language.

The best part about going to Outdshoorn (apart from my various riding expeditions) was the scenery there and back. The landscape on the way is amazing and seeing the mountains and waterfall while on the quad bikes was unforgettable. The different environments of the Garden Route and the Karoo really are beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Quad bikingQuad biking
Quad biking

ok so not so attractive...but so much fun...
Horse RidingHorse Riding
Horse Riding

Just call me McLeod..


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb