sorry for the delay


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Knysna
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

sorry for the delay. Internet access is spotty in places.

this trip is getting better and better. I would have never believed I love South Africa so much.

Lets see, when I last left you, we were heading to the private game reserve. We saw baby Cheetas and were right up on them. We saw elephants, right beside theopen air safari vechile we were riding in, same with giraffes. I have some great pictures. this new camera is wonderful but it does eat batteries. that is one thing I dislike. Sorry no pictures today. I'm limited on time and want to right more, plus I need to resize some of them down before downloading.

New Years eve I got to fly in a microflight plane. I did see some buffulo but not much else. We then flew to Port Elizabeth. We transfered thru JoBurg (Johansburgh ? on spelling) and then to PE. It is beautiful and the hotel they had us in was right on the beach. the big NY eve party was across the street on the beach. We had a wonderful dinner at a restaurant on the water. I think it was the best curry I've had in years. Of course I had champagne to. then we went to the outdoor concert and huge firework show (all across from our hotel). One band was boo'd. Not much dancing. I think we were moving to the music more than the blacks here. Oh they did boo the mayor who tried to talk but the rap star that was coming on next said he wouldn't sign until they listened to the mayor.

the next morning we dropped Shelly off to kayak and the rest of us went zip lining. it was a blast and Shelly had a blast too. She did get the seat in the van wet though. Last night for dinner we went to a resaurant on the coast. the waves were crashing on the rocks. I ate both ostrich and kudo for dinner. Both were great.

Today we started with another rehabilation center. This one specialized in cats. we got to get into the cages with the cheetas and the serval and got some great pictures with us beside them. it was fantastic. we then drove to knysna to go mountain biking. Oops, the places are all closed. It is a holiday here. So guess what Shelly did, she kayaked. She took 2 of the group. I went with the rest to an elephant rehabiliation center. I got to feed and touch the elephants.

So, we have one guy on the trip. I think I might have told you he speaks 25 languages. He must have taken 3000 pictures so far and he is always saying OMG. we now have started bets on how many times he is going to say it in a certain time period.



so again, we are having a blast and I will try to add pictures the next time I can get on. Love you all.

Off to the wine country tomorrow.



Claire and Shelly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb