Penguins not on the menu thankfully


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Hout Bay
April 22nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

But squid steak is. I order it because it’s cheap and I’m curious (reasoning responsible for so many mistakes culinary or otherwise!).It arrives looking very like fried strip steak though pale and creamy in colour and tender to bite, I like.


It's a hoot! (see what I did there?)
We’re sat in the Mariner’s Wharf, a tourist beacon in Hout Bay, it being a massive building right on the beach. Inside its dark timber recesses and matching tables and chairs scream traditional English pub and it’s festooned with all manner of nautical tat whose theme I have to report sadly includes the staff. Sporting stripy nautical jumpers, I expect them to break out into a jaunty hornpipe at any time. Really, it’s not that bad though and if the Pirate’s Arms even came close to this place at the very least it’d deserve its name.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb