Shark Dive


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Gansbaai
September 17th 2008
Published: September 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I’ve been saying I wanted to do it for a while now so I bit the bullet and went for it. Can't believe a year ago you wouldn't have got me to swim in the sea in England, never mind jump in the water with a Great White.
It was a fantastic experience and I definitely want to do it again. Was even talking to the guy about working with the sharks as a volunteer.
Be serious bragging rights in the pub,
"So what do you do for a living?"
"Oh I work with great white sharks".
Wasn't really that nervous until the guy told us to get the wet suits on and I took a look at the flimsy cage that we had to get in. I wouldn't have thought it would be safe enough to keep a budgie in but maybe that’s part of the experience. The sharks we got weren’t all that big according to the guy but they seemed big enough to me. Especially when a 3 meter male, bumped the cage less than a foot in front of me.
I took some pictures but I’ll put some more on later when they send me the DVD they did of the trip.
Still you’ll get the idea.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The CageThe Cage
The Cage

The type of cage we were supposed to be in
Think we need a bigger boatThink we need a bigger boat
Think we need a bigger boat

the boat was only 11m


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb