February 15/16, 2011


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Franschhoek
February 17th 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

ArtscapeArtscapeArtscape

Nicole and I waiting for the lecture to start. SMILE
I do not have the appreciation for seeing the sun rise. All I see is the fact that I, once again, am up too early. I saw the sun rise both Tuesday and Wednesday in order to drive to Cape Town for Artscape. While there, I watched a comedian, 3 plays, 1 contemporary dance company, 1 dance/play/comedy, and attended three workshops. The actors were amazing, but the contemporary dancers frequently forgot parts of the routine, and I did not find their moves entertaining or intriguing (maybe it was because they had profound African influences in the dances and I could not fully appreciate it). Two of the plays were depressing and confusing plots that left everyone feeling confused, upset and depressed. On the upside, the dance/play/comedy was amazing.

My workshops had potential, but psychotic drama teachers ruined two for me. Originally, I was eager for the story telling workshop. Story telling is an art that I DO NOT have. The instructor wanted us to “move the air particles with our bodies and make them energetic”. Umm how about not? The last one was gave me false hope in the beginning. She started out great with relation, meditation, and goal searching.
ArtscapeArtscapeArtscape

FINIALLY a good breakfast with eggs! Too bad it was lunch...
It went downhill from there. She critiqued and CHANGED our goals. That is NOT okay with me. My goal is my own. Because of her critiquing she also made us 45 minutes late, so we missed break and part of the really funny dance/ play. That play was the perfect way to end our field trip. Some parts were bad but I am thrilled that I experienced the good and the bad.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

ArtscapeArtscape
Artscape

The comedian dancing how different races dance like they were shot. Hysterical.


23rd February 2011

THE WORLD
THE WORLD IS MADE UP MANY DIFFERENT WAYS OF LIFE. LEARN ABOUT THEM AND USE WHAT YOU LIKE. LOVE, GRAMMIE

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb