Arrived in Cape Town, South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 22nd 2012
Published: August 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My South African adventure began with a looonnnnngggggg day of travel! I boarded a plane in Chicago and flew 7-8 hours to Amsterdam. Then, I had a 3-4 hour layover, before boarding a 12-13 hour flight to Cape Town, South Africa. I left on Tuesday at about 4pm (local), watched the sunrise in Amsterdam, watched the sunset flying over Africa, and I landed at about 9:30 pm local.







I flew KLM, which was great. I enjoyed being greeted by dogs playing on the beach on the individual TV screens, and I felt sure that meant good things were to come. I studied a little (a very little) and I watched a couple of movies. During my layover, I was pumped to learn that they offer free WIFI for an hour in the Amsterdam airport, as well as extra strong coffee. I was less thrilled to learn that I had a middle seat for my next flight. I looked to see what else was available, and for a small fee I could upgrade to an aisle seat with a huge empty space beside it. Also, it was in the back row, so I could put my seat back without bothering anyone else. Needless to say, I definitely went for it, and It was definitely worth it! My second flight was ok. I slept a little in the first 4 hours, I was antsy during the second 4 hours, and I made friends with two South African men during the last 4 hours. They were cute and nice, so I could have probably flown a little longer!





After going through customs, I was met by a representative from AVIVA who drove me to my home away from home. When I arrived and texted my family to let them know I was safe and sound, it had been exactly 24 hours since my flight took off from Chicago. Then, I fell into my (bunk)bed and slept.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb