RWC 2011 - North Island, New Zealand


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 3rd 2011
Published: September 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NZ Overall Trip


So, this is my initial TravelBlog entry, and it's purpose is simply a trial.

Monday night on October 10th 2011 I will be boarding an Emirates flight to Auckland from Cape Town via Dubai and Brisbane. Its a monstrous trip. Almost 34 hours. I am travelling solo and upon arrival at Auckalnd International I will be boarding an Air NZ flight down to Rotorua. I will be staying with family in Tokoroa for 3 nights, where I hope to get to experience Rotorua and its surrounds. I had hoped to head down to hike the Tongariro Crossing but it may not be an option - weather depending. I may opt for hitting the mountains around Roturua instead.

From Tokoroa I will catch a bus back up to Auckland on the Saturday (Game Day!) to watch Semi Final 1 at Eden Park. I will be in Auckland until Monday night before catching another Air NZ flight to Wellington. I will be at Eden Park for Semi Final 2 on the Sunday night as well. The dream is to watch an All Blacks match live in New Zealand, so now I must just hope they make the semi finals...

Arriving in Wellington on Monday night at 9pm I will be going to stay with more family. I will be here for 3 nights as well before catching the InterCity Coachlines overnight bus back to Auckland. Bus leaves Wellington just after 7pm from the CBD and arrives in Auckland around 7am - no accommodation required for my final night in NZ before flying out on the Friday night.

In Wellington I plan to spend a day exploring the City (typical walking tour scenario), as well as heading to a nature area to either do some Mountain Biking or Hiking.

With such a short visit, and with the 6 ZAR giving me 1 NZ$ it makes choosing what to do very difficult and I think I will miss out on a lot.

Anyways, I must make the most of it and plan wisely in the 30 odd days before departing Cape Town.

Justin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb