keeping on


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 5th 2010
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Molweni!

The past few days have been VERY busy....I've been spending most of my days working at a place called Sebongile's, which is a home for children with cerebral palsy. No one knows exactly how old each child is, but they seem to range from about 1 to 12 years old (although the 12 year old is the size of a 4 year old)...The home is located within the Khayelitsha township and is actually a rather new building, but directly across the street from the homes and stores built from tin. It's quite the contrast. These kids are SO beautiful and the house mother is practically begging for education in regards to CP and promoting development, so I think it's a match made in heaven. The mamas (nannies) feed all the children lying down, which makes me scream inside, especially for the kids with PEG tubes, so my goal is to provide some education while upholding a ton of respect for these women and their culture. Unfortunately the home does not allow photos, so you won't see any pics (until MAYBE the last day!)...

Yesterday I learned how to drum a djembe (so fun!), and some of us went out to explore the Waterfront. I think it's very strange to start the day out amongst people living in stark poverty, then to close the day at a fancy restaurant in Cape Town. I'm also taking some Xhosa classes (and do you know that there is not just one "click", but actually 3 types of clicks - as my teacher says, there is the "what a pity" click, the "cantering horse" click, and the "champagne popping" click). I had no idea my tongue was so uncoordinated until now!!

Until Ngonso.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb