Overcoming Sickness for the Best Week Ever


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 21st 2010
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry, I am over a week behind on blogging so these week’s blogs will most likely be very short and lacking much detail. You will have to hear the details later.

However this week had to be one of the best weeks of my life and will definitely be a week to remember for the many years to come. It is partially because of that, that I am that far behind on my blogging. But like I said this week was amazing despite the initial bad start. After wine tasting yesterday, last night my throat was not doing too well. A few others in the house had been sick previously and it seemed as if I had caught what they had. So last night I had pulled out all the stops by taking vitamins, drinking 6 glasses of hot water, putting vicks on my throat and chest, and gargling hot salt water. It did me some good as I woke up today with my throat feeling a lot better, but I was definitely clogged up and not feeling too well. I also endured a fever and a never ending running nose last night which made sleeping miserable. As most of you would know, my handkerchief was in full effect.

I was definitely bummed out that at the half way point of my vacation I had gotten sick. But besides the sickness I woke up in time to make it to the Portugal/Korea game, for which we had Category 1 awesome tickets. Excited knowing that I would see Portugal today I got out of bed and painfully got ready for the game. When I got outside to the living room I was greeted by the wet windows and saw that it was pouring rain outside!! So sad! We got to the game pretty late because of the rain and missed the first 2 minutes. The game was amazing with Portugal taking the win 7-0! I got to see 7 awesome goals!! Best game yet to watch. After the game we went to a nearby bar to watch the second game and then returned to the house for a “relaxed” evening. While the Peek’s cooked dinner for all of us I frantically searched the FIFA website for Rd of 16 tickets in Cape Town which I guessed would be Portugal vs Spain. With no results I decided to turn in and join in the dinner that the Peeks had made. However, after serving myself I decided to give it one last try… and… I GOT TICKETS!!! Category 1 tickets to the Rd of 16 in Cape town!! YES!!!! Amazingness! After dinner I played water hockey b/c of the sickness and called it a relatively early night (1am), while the others stayed up to continue playing actual drinking games. FYI Round of 16 turned out to be Portugal vs. SPAIN!!


Advertisement



30th June 2010

yes yes, we know about that darn handkerchief
30th June 2010

yes yes, we know about that darn handkerchief

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb