Evangelical Lutheran church Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Perhaps my deflation at the weenie lion led me to enter the church next door for a little spiritual uplift. It's a funny thing; at home, unless I'm having a very boring Christmas or celebrating someone's wedding, I rarely step inside a place of worship. Travelling, it's suddenly fair game and I'm snapping away at stained glass windows and worrying about holes in my socks if I need to take my shoes off.

This Evangelical Lutheran church with its simple whitewashed walls and dark wooden pews was interesting as it had swans bizarrely carved into its pulpit.Lingering by the door I hoped to know why by reading the display information but my attention diverted I didn't see the woman approaching...She didn't seem to be a lady of the cloth but was perhaps a caretaker or something and though very friendly, I was in no mood to chat.Still the swans were perplexing me so I asked:

Q. Why swans?

A. Don't know (useful). We think the Dutch pastor asked for them (cleverly deduced).

No answers then but I hear god works in mysterious ways.

Trying to feign interest and be polite, I asked if Martin Luther was involved with the church to wit she replied he'd been dead maybe a couple hundred years before the church was built. Embarrassing. As a charitable Christian though she conveyed this information politely without laughing in my face, so I thank the Bible for that.

I engaged in some face saving chit chat about what to see in Cape Town but ultimately ignored her advice as I knew exactly where we going - the V&A waterfront - but I made a mental note of her recommendations, she meant well, well that's the Christian way.

paradisepromised.wordpress.com


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb