January Journeys...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 9th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Africa JamAfrica JamAfrica Jam

Jesus Poster
During the month of January I have fluctuated from being extremely busy to extremely slow. The new year started off with a bang. I returned from my New Years vacation only to have 1 day to pack before I headed off to the Africa Jam camp. As I stated in my prior newsletter this camp has been in the works for the entire year and it brings high school age youth from all over Cape Town together for this fun-filled Christian leadership camp. The days were filled with talent shows, praise sessions, and motivational speakers. The youth were allowed to take swim lessons, play rugby, dance, write poetry, do art, hike, play basketball and much more. My main task included registration/room assignments and meal clean-up duty. (Oh how I value a dishwasher after having to hand wash dishes for 200 kids for breakfast, lunch and dinner). The camp created an outlet for kids to be introduced to Christ while having fun with their peers and being themselves. The highlight of the camp for the youth was the ropes course. Kids were divided into teams where they had to overcome obstacles with given scenarios in order to move forward on the course-
Camp ropes courseCamp ropes courseCamp ropes course

Some succeeded others made a great effort!
it involved creativity, competitive thinking, teamwork and a willingness to get dirty. Activities and meetings were held from 7:00 am until sometimes 1:00 or 2:00 a.m., so after camp ended- I slept for 2 days straight.



A group of 36 Americans form Gustavus College in Minnesota came to help with the camp and receive additional college credits. Many of them enjoyed the camp more than the campers. The week of their departure we had a cultural party for them in which we had a local band, and traditional African dishes prepared. Everyone seemed to have fun and danced all night long. I managed to let them convince me to try ostrich meat. ( not bad- but I don't want more)


The month of January has allowed for me to show others in South Africa the“American way” more so than other months. Listed below are a few things we did that were “Americanized”


• Inauguration of Barack- we had a party at my home complete with lots of food, a memorial stand honoring Martin Luther King and Barack, CNN coverage, and me singing the National Anthem.(ha ha)

• Taco night-Scavenging the grocery store, I managed to find most things that go in tacos. Cheryl made them with my instructions while I watched. It was not a hit among anyone except Cheryl. The rest of the family was very unimpressed that this was our Sunday night dinner.

• Alicia cooked - I made a box of Tuna helper that mom had sent. One would have thought I was cooking worms with the way Auntie scrunched her nose up at the pot. Her and Cheryl kept arguing over who was going to taste it first. Eventually they tasted it and liked it (at least they said they did)
• Family Birthday Party- I went to one of the cousins birthdays. To celebrate we sang old hits by some American artist such as Gladys Night, Tina Turner, Stevie Wonder and others. Everyone was surprised that I knew all the old songs- something I must accredit to my mother.


I have yet to learn my lesson in hiking. It is best I realize that hiking is not my forte. My co-worker Ryan invited me to take an intense hike with him and friend along the coast. What I learned was that the hike included
Alicia and AmyAlicia and AmyAlicia and Amy

This is Amy- my ostrich eating partner. It was not so tasty :(
huge boulders to climb over and a cave with bats at the top. In order to get through the cave we crawled on our stomaches through sand and rocks with miniature flashlights. Although I didn't end the journey with much grace I finished in one piece.


For the remainder of the month I spent extensive time in the office doing administrative work. We get a lot accomplished on most days- others we tend to joke around and daze which is also good. So I have completed another month here, still healthy and happy and moving on to February.... I will be seeing you all very soon! Miss you


Peace and Blessings,
Alicia



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Alicia next to Dr. King posterAlicia next to Dr. King poster
Alicia next to Dr. King poster

A salute to Dr. King and Mr.Obama!!! yeah
AliciaAlicia
Alicia

The "bat cave"


12th February 2009

WOW
All I can say is WOW! basically to all of it. The scenery and the water is breathtaking. Your adventures are, well ok a bit daring but none the least exciting and the obstacles look invigorating and inspiring. WOW It could actually be an advertistment because it makes me want to join in. Have fun! Be blessed and I miss you. Dell

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb