Farewell to CT


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Molweni,

I can't believe I am flying out of Cape Town International airport in a little over six hours. I don't want to think about it.

What a great week this has been for me, relaxing and learning more about Cape Town and myself. I have explored Observatory (the small town where I have been staying within Cape Town), finding my way to a really nice used book store like the one I hope to own and operate one day myself.

Lots of cool people from across the world have come to the hostel this week while I have been here, and many have left already. How nice it has been to converse with so many from so many places, accruing friends from all over the world in case I decide one day to travel across the universe and find I need places to stay.

I have been cooking some amazing dishes this week as well, including my most recent experiment with all my leftover ingredients from the week - soup. Luckily, Tim, a man who has pitched his tent in the yard for R60 a night compared to my cost of R100 a night, donated some herbs and potatoes so the soup wouldn't be so bare with onions, carrots, green pepper, broccoli, and broth. It turned out very well, but not so wonderful as my awesome dish of beef, tomatoes, green pepper, onions, mushrooms, and rice that I made a few days ago. I was so impressed with it I shared it with as many as wanted a taste so they could know what an amazing cook I am. I'm allowed to brag every now and again, yeah?

Yesterday I attended a Church service with our driver, Leonard. What an interesting and new experience it was. We arrived and there was singing and dancing, and the singing and dancing didn't stop until the end of the service! I experienced people getting saved and children running free during the service, which was an amazing mix of enjoyment and spirituality. I can't say that I plan on becoming a born-again Christian after this experience, but I can say that I definitely have a lot of respect for the energy it takes to get through a service...

Just now I had a debate with one of the managers of the Green Elephant (the hostel where I am) about whites and blacks. He attacked Americans for coming here and giving handouts to those who live in the townships, which was a brave thing to say because he knows I am from America. I was not angry, and asked him not to generalise and told him I haven't given a cent to any beggars here, but that I went to the townships to teach people how to use computers and tutor school children. I saw how much my patience has improved being here, because I found myself pointing out to him that we agree on many things while disagreeing on a lot as well, while I was being "put down" for being an American. I understood his anger, but feel badly that those who do come here to try to help by giving out money to beggars have given people like me a bad reputation. I think it is interesting that the most heated conversation I have had during my six weeks here happened on my last day; it proves that not all is as well as people may say it is here. The constitution here is one of the most progressive in the world, yet it doesn't seem to be making much difference because of how people interpret it. My conversation with Martin also reminded me that there are people everywhere with the same views (both negative and positive) about affirmative action, welfare, and other policies that are very controversial. Though I didn't want to compare SA to the US, I pointed out to Martin that there are people all over the world, including America, with the same views as him. He didn't believe me.

I have also found that I must defend myself and fight for respect a lot here in the presence of men who have the perception that white American women are "easy" - for example, the five marriage proposals I have gotten while here - thanks to white American women who do come here and not worry about what they are saying about all American women when they go out and kiss different men in every club. How easy it is to generalise when all you are presented of a country is those you have met from that country; and how easy it is to not realise when you put up a wall when others make generalisations about your country.


Oh me, am I going to miss this place! I will see so many of you very soon, and I will give you big hugs because I have missed my friends. Wish me safe travels across the seas and in the air, and will someone please throw some ice cubes into the air so it is not 100 degrees when I arrive?

Love and peace,
Charis/
Siphokazi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb