Athletics, food, kids, and exams.


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Molweni!

How is everyone? I'm doing super!

Two days ago a group of us hiked Table Mountain. One of the members from my study abroad group had to leave the programme early for a family function, and his last wish before leaving was to hike the mountain. We spent two hours hiking up a nice trail to the top. It was an absolutely gorgeous day; at one point I actually got warm enough to be in my shorts and a t-shirt, but as we approached the windy top I put my wind pants and jacket back on! When you see pictures of me perilously close to the edge of a big boulder, please remain calm and realise that if I had fallen I would not be writing this blog at the moment! I plan to hike at least one more time before I leave, hopefully on a longer trail and with fewer breaks.

Two evenings ago we ate dinner at our driver's (Leonard) house. He has two young boys and another child on the way. After eating, I played with the kids (there were two girls visiting as well, so I was playing with four kids) while everyone else stayed in their seats and talked with each other. I ended up holding Leonard's youngest son and feeding him some of my dessert, which is a big accomplishment because of how shy he is. It is interesting that, wherever I go, I attract children who then become very attached to me. When we left, Jayden (the two-year old) did not want me to put him down and one of the girls jumped on me and wouldn't let go. What can I say? I love kids!
I spend a lot of time riding in our bus up front with Leonard because I enjoy seeing everything we pass and getting to know him and his perceptions of life in Africa. I have grown very close to Leonard and consider him a brother, and I found last weekend what an impact I have had on his life and his wife's life as well. During our ride back to Cape Town from Clanwilliam (where we saw rock paintings), he told me that he and his wife have decided that if their next child is a girl they want to name her Charis. I cannot explain how honoured I feel.

Yesterday a majority of those in my programme went on a safari. I did not feel the need to go as I can see animals along the side of the road for free! I am so happy I did not go, because yesterday was the first opportunity I have had this whole trip to sleep in and not have to worry about getting up for something that has been put on my schedule. What a gorgeous day yesterday was as well, so I sat outside in the grass reading about Mugabe, Mbeke, and Zuma in the Sunday newspaper until I decided I wanted to go for a run.
drumroll please.....dadadadadaaaah....I was feeling so energetic I ran for an hour! How great that felt, and what a mental battle it was at times when I found myself struggling to make it up a steady hill. Today my body aches, but I can't wait to go for another long run soon.

Today we had oral presentations which count for 10% of our final mark for our course. What a lovely experience to hear 15 people's accounts of development or education and service learning during a period of four hours. I am not being sarcastic. We had so much to offer in our ten minutes of fame in the front of the room, and everyone was so enthusiastic and willing to share their beliefs and experiences from the time we have been here. I'm beginning to think about the fact that in a week we will all say our good-byes! I am not looking forward to this, and I can tell you that there will be many tears and tight hugs. Enough of that sappy stuff now, as I need to first get through our written examination tomorrow (which counts for 45% of our final mark!)!

Well, I have sufficiently caught you up with my life again. Now I must find a friend who wishes me to watch his favourite sitcom with him.

Stay well, and today I challenge you to write on a scrap of paper one affirmation about yourself. Place it somewhere special where you will come across it on a rainy day.

Peace and love,
Charis/
Siphokazi

Advertisement



16th July 2008

wow
It's people like you who made this trip possible. thank you

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb