first two weeks nearly over!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thursday it was 37 degrees here.. so the only place to go was.. an air conditonal mall! A short ride away was one of the smaller malls, Cavendish Square in Claremont. How strange though to be trying on billabong one day (very very cheap here) and to be working in an orphange the days before....
Its all girls here in the project by the way, and also in the AVIVA house at the moment, so we had a good shopping trip.. I was very reserved! Its just fun to look round and see all the diffnert things and brands here.

Thursday night I went to a Townshipo near Hout Bay, nicknamed Mandela Park, for dinner. I went with one of the volunteers Jess. We were picked up by the tour company organising it, by Shirley who is a local. It was a very traditional evening. The venue was a bar (or shack..) and we had traditional food, 6 different dishes, and also heard and saw some of the local music, singing and Xhosa dancing. Some zulu dancing too afterwards by the men. The children did the Xhosa dancing, as apparently when you are a man it is not suitable for you to do these dances?! I danced a little at the end as the hosts had a juke box in the corner.. A great night, and brilliant to be so traditional and share the culture. I did feel like I stuck out like a very sore thumb but everyone was very very friendly and lovely!

Friday I had a day out on my own..!! I went to Long Street the main shopping/tourist street and booked a 4 day safari in Kruger for March. Had a good look round, and headed for the waterfront. Relaxed with a drink then went to Rotary Club of Cape Town for lunch which was great. They were all very welcoming and I presented our club banner, gave Presi MMs greetings and spoke a little bit..! A full report in the post to sjr. In the evening we all went out to a local mexican restaurent, took 1 and 1/2 hours to get food but hey this is S Africa (and it was worth it!)

Saturday was.... the South African equivalent of ladies day at Ascot and off we all went!! The J & B Met. I didn't have a dress or a big hat!! But scrubbed up ok! A lot of the girls wore the new dresses they'd bought at the mall. It was a very very friendly crowd, a huge range of outfits. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was on the flat, and the main race was at 4:20pm.. a horse bucked and his jockey fell off and the horse did a lap of the track all by himself so the start was delayed a lot, but both were ok and it made the day even more exciting. Canderal sponsored some of the event and were giving out chocolate bars which were melting as it was another very hot day. I didn't win but the bets were less than a pound for a place/each way bet and I have just realsied this key board doesn't have a pound sign!! (why would it Mich!!)

Sunday was back at the orphanage! First we spoke to the girls who are just finishing their shift, to find out what has been happening,. We have a shift notebook so I felt a bit like a tecacher, and write about all the kids, staff, anything really that happens! They we all took the children to the hall for church. It started off really well with some great songs but the sermon went on a bit for the children even though it was great, and most of them fell asleep. Back to the baby house, and then lunch, and sleep time for babies and also volunteers... BUT we decided to paint the volunteer flat! It was very dirty and grubby so we had got paint, and brushes, and our breaks for the next few days were spent painting and cleaning.. just half of the living room/kithcen for now and then who knows..!! Its is hard work to do some much on our breaks! Sunday evening I did bathtime for the slightly older kids like 4 and 5 years old.. and it was brilliant. They sang ba ba black sheep, and were pretty self sufficient, could choose their own pjs. I put on my first nappy (on a nice clean baby), and that went ok!! A big difference to the babies bathtime!

The next few days were really getting into the routine, bathtimes, snack times, food, playtime and toothbrushing. I brought out the rugby and footballs, and they seemed to go down well. I did babies bathtime again twice which was stressful a bit, but getting easier and I am being veyr patinet!! Some of the kids had their clothes on back to front afterwards, and also one girls skirt I ociked for her was too big and it kept falling down all day.. ooops!!I am slowly starting to know some names, and see some different personalities!!

The babies are funny though - they walk or crawl up to you and sit down and cry in front of you just to get attention.. can't really blame them but I am quickly learning the difference between crocodile and real tears!!

Some of the children have been born to alcoholic mothers, so they are very small, and also have a few problems. There's a huge range here, and not all are orphans, some are here as their parents cannot cope. All of the babies have big bellies from eating rice and bread all the time, but fruit is so expensive - a real luxury here. Elton John came here in 2005 Jan and his charity funds a lot of the work. The baiscs are still a problem thought - donated food which is very stodgey, nappies are one size, so very funny when on a baby as they are pretty big, there are some very grubby looking toothbrushes too! But on the whole there is always food, and snack food, and toys to play with and things like that!!

I am being reminded of the childhood a lot - I think a previous UK volunteer left a CD and we listening to it with the kids yesterday.. it was full of nelly the elephant, postman pat, two little boys, and also I found a book of squirrel nutkin!!

Yesterday was a 4am start!!!!! The baies house is still very very understaffed so we were asked if we could help with am bathtime and food.. which started at 4am.. so I did that yesterday. As there are 5 volunteers in our shift we went alternate days in 2 and 3s so we had a lie in every other day there. Its cute waking up sleeping kids and they are very quiet!! I did bathtime for the 4 and 5 year olds which was great, as I was half asleep too! I did get some of the clothes on back to front though..and some of the sizes all wrong...!!!!

Well just got back to AVIVA house this morning, and today is laundry and post office and all those other things!! Tonight we will go out to a tarrot restaurant, which should be interesting..!! (Its in the lonely planet guide) I am sure they will predict some early starts and lots of cyring in my future (of the babies that is not me!!!!!!)

By the way the Transport here is great. A train, bus or taxi are good, but there are also minibus canbs. Baisclally you hail one in the street which has a sign up saying where it is going in the firnt window. They they fit as many people in the bus as they can.. and carehge you 20p for a ride.. They beep the horn when they have space and you are sat there thinking this is full isn't it and the bus is beeping, and more people get in and seats fold down from almost out of nowhere!!

The shops have gated entrances, some of them so you ahve to ring a door bell and get let in, which I guess is just a safety thing.. at first it felt intimidating to go in and browse, but its just the norm here having gates and people don't mind if you just want a look, they are happy to show you their shop.

Well I have a Digital Camera full of pics, this is a computer and I have a cable thingy and one day I will put all three togther!!!

Happy Birthday to Mum
Happy Birthday to Uncle B
Happy Wedding AnniversayMum and Dad!!
I'm missing lots of UK stuff :-)

Liz, thanks for messages, hope all is going well. I wrote to you so expect it in 3 weeks!!
Mike thanks for messages, I did reply but not sure it worked? Will check out your blog!!

Amy I'll ask at AVIVA house is any of the volunteers know some insider info about your project! Anything you want to know just ask! I love it here!


Advertisement



31st January 2007

Thanks
Hi Michelle, Thaks for the birthday prezzie - arrived two months early!! I shall hide it somewhere until March. Glad you are enjoying yourself. Take care, Emma.
1st February 2007

croeso!
glad post got to you ok!! I was very surprised at speed!! I have emailed all my photos so far - maybe you have them ok? Lots of love and thanks for posting Mich xxxxx
1st February 2007

Hellooo out there
Hi Michelle, Wow, so much has happened to you out there - amazing stuff. Hope the babies are behaving themselves. Now I have found your blog I will try to keep up with your adventures. I've moved into my new house so I've got broadband - hopefully will help me to keep in touch! *H*xx
2nd February 2007

I appreciate you asking around to see about insider views regarding the Tamboti project. I'm sooooo excited!! I'm a biology major, so having the opportunity to go and do research on a reserve in S. Africa seems out of this world; it should be extremely interesting. I'll let u know if I come up with any AVIVA questions.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb