IN SOUTH AFRICA: CAPE TOWN


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
December 10th 2006
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Table MountainOn Table MountainOn Table Mountain

The Island far behind is where Nelson Mandela stayed imprisioned for 25 years
Hello there:

It's summer down in South Africa, but I landed on a rainy and cold Cape Town!!!

Shunt towns around the airport area, just like the ones in Brazilian "favelas", started to appear. "Apartheid ghost?", I questioned, and right than, a huge billboard announced " Comfortable Housing for All". Hummmmm!!!!??????

At the hotel I am warned not to walk alone, for safety reasons, and right after I met a Peruvian woman who had been already mugged. My South African friends back in Namimbia had already warned me that S. Africa has a lot of crime and to be VERY careful.

Well, I was careful, but how not to walk on the streets if that's where you see the locals? I did walk daily, but during the day time. The area where I stayed was where the "artistic" folks hang around. Thus, it was very interesting, to say the least.

I came to Cape Town for the IDF's 19th World Diabetes Congress, so I spent most of my time at the International convention center.

12,000 professionals from around the world, with a same area of interest: diabetes. It was wonderful! Great lectures, contacts, and very positive response to my work. I presented two poster sessions with the results from my practice.

It was a truly worth professional experience and if the contacts and propositions I received endure time and distance, I may end up in other countries in the near future, continuing to be engaged on the fight to control the diabetes pandemic. India, Cuba, Nepal, brazil... we'll see.

I took an afternoon off for a hike at the beautiful Table Mountain. Up I went on a rotating cable car. Superb view. Only down side: too many tourists.

On my last day in Africa, watching the Sunset at the beach on Camps Bay followed by a delicious dinner by the ocean was a treat and a nice way to say good bye to Africa.

To all of you who send comments or private messages, know that it's wonderful that you make me feel in touch with "my world, even when so far.
Your friendship is deeply appreciated, and it's wonderful haing you in my life.
With love,
Patricia




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

At Table Mountain, after a great hikeAt Table Mountain, after a great hike
At Table Mountain, after a great hike

I'm getting this thing about climbing rocks: Tibet, Namibia, South Africa. Next one??? Don't know yet.
 Scene from Cape Town  Scene from Cape Town
Scene from Cape Town

Lots of buildings with "artistic" painting around
See, I did work in AfricaSee, I did work in Africa
See, I did work in Africa

Talking to some physicians about my research.
IDF contactsIDF contacts
IDF contacts

With president of AADE
Photo shoot in CTPhoto shoot in CT
Photo shoot in CT

Pi, soh lmbrei de voce. Conversei com um produtor. Um dia inteiro de shooting pra 6 paginas.


14th December 2006

África do Sul
Patrícia: Te agradeço imensamente as belas fotos que tem nos enviado. Mesmo sem ter ido à Africa, hoje conheço um pouco mais sobre este continente. Um beijo grande.
14th December 2006

a brief hello
the pictures you took of cape town are beautiful and show my city in a very good light. it was a pleasure meeting you and i hope you enjoyed your travels. i await further updates on your travel blog to see where else in the world you get to explore. stay well x
14th December 2006

Hey Vince, my great helper
The blog pictures from Africa wouldn't be there if it wasn't for your great help. Thanks a billion and let's stay in touch, okay? Tchau, Patricai
14th December 2006

Hi Rita
Que bom receber um alo seu! A Africa me surpreendeu, e se nao fosse a grande distancia, dava pra pensar em voltar la. Mas, nunca se sabe, ne? Um grande beijo e manda mais "noticias", ta? Patricia
15th December 2006

South africa trip
I have thoroughly enjoyed hearing about your trip. Sounds like you had an amazing time. Glad i could see Africa. Your pictures are amazing.
16th December 2006

Estamos em São Paulo
Tou com Rodrigo, Guilherme, Mamãe, e família para formatura voltamos domingo. Amamos as fotos, estão lindas. Beijos Qualquer mensagem mande para os meninos. Beijos
16th December 2006

Oi
Que bom que estao ai pra comemorar com o Ro! Ligarei pra vcs hoje a noite. Beijos
16th December 2006

Hey Lisa
I am very glad you could "follow"my steps, and thanks for the compliment on the photos. I've discovered a new passion to share with others. Merry Xmas PAtricia

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb