Celebrating five years together in style in Cape Town...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
November 19th 2020
Published: December 2nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

I truly hope 2020 is treating you half decently. I have to admit, writing these blogs is somehow challenging. We are all doing the best to get the best of a super difficult year. But depending of where you are in 2020....life can be sweeter...or way more sour! So little disclaimer, I will not be able to complain about 2020...well...there are 29 more days to go. This year was spent mainly between Seychelles and gorgeous South Africa....but 2020 being the year I did get married...you imagine my point of view!



So about the title....yes, five years of love...and I'm super happy Tanya has been all the way here for me, the best years by far!



First, if 2020 was not that nice to you, I hope 2021 will be way better! This is not the time to compare how lucky we are or not. This is the time of empathy....if we can....understanding...if we suffer or not...and hope...if life has been better...and to cherish others....if life was sweet to you like it was to us...



So take this blog the way you believe is best for you! South Africa has dealt with a solid lockdown earlier this year...but for now, it's back to near normal life, with the masks and social distancing! Point to note...covid positive cases have been on the rise...so a second wave is more than a potential...at the same time as we all hearing of a vaccine being soon available.



My parents may be stupid enough to think that everything is owe to them. I'm a rational, an economist. I believe in figures and common sense. Once cases will reach 5,000 positive cases a day we will shelter. Below 2,000 a day country wise...we can enjoy....above...we need to be cautious....well...over the last 15 days, it went from a national average to 1,800 to 2,800 a day...so cautious it is....social distancing it is....but we are still on the golf courses!



Our visit in Cape Town is a slightly special one. We are celebrating five years together. If you know me, this is super special!



I have always dreamed to stay at Twelve Apostles. But as everything luxury in Cape Town, this is outrageously expensive. Well...not anymore, at least not now for "locals". So here we are...dinner, breakfast, bubbly, spa....even cinema...we did the 12 Apostles the proper way...not cutting any corner...just enjoying a great deal!



But cape Town is not only this...dinner at V&A...golf at Milnerton, driving Chapman's Peak drive...golf at Steenberg...playing two holes with a former Springboks....special...wine tasting at Steenberg....but way better at Buitenverwachting...



So to go back to the wine...I'm finally a wine club member at Steenberg. There is way better, but the choice and the discount made it easy to get 24 bottles. Just before this, Buitenverwachting....and I'm really awaiting the next release of the limited edition of their Sauvignon Blanc...won't win the world prices...as too few bottles...but perhaps the best Sauvignon Blanc in the world....and I know my field a little...



You want to dream few days.....this is it....love, romance...and everything else we, and I could dream about....and you don't even know what is coming next.



So Covid year is a messy one...but we will survive...hope you deal with it the best you can too!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



2nd December 2020

Five years of bliss! Congratulations!
And I wish you a very merry Christmas and may 2021 be much better.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb