South Africa: Cricket in Cape Town


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Table Mountain #1Table Mountain #1Table Mountain #1

Stunning weather
After a short six weeks which were anything but quiet (Go the Black Caps!), I was off on my next adventure. First stop Cape Town. But first, I headed to the airport and into the lounge for some quiet to skype Hannah, when who should come and sit directly opposite me – AB de Villiers, captain of the South African cricket team, who had just lost an incredible match to New Zealand in the World Cup Semi-Final two days previous. After my call to Hannah, I spoke to him for a bit and he was obviously still devastated but willing to chat – top bloke!



Anyway, upon arriving in sunny South Africa, I found my hotel and went off out exploring down to the waterfront which was pretty scenic before I came back to catch up on a bit of sleep before meeting up with the work group for dinner. Despite my nap I was still pretty exhausted and very much looking forward to my bed!



Seeing as I only had one full day in Cape Town, I jammed in as much as I could and first thing I went up to Table Mountain. I was pretty lucky as the weather was superb and the ‘table cloth’ (cloud cover) never came over. I wandered right around for two hours enjoying the view before coming back down and jumping on the hop-on, hop-off bus to explore further afield.



First stop was Camps Bay where I had lunch and dipped my toes in the freezing cold water. Despite the warmth of the day, there was no chance of getting in there for a swim! From there I went back down to the waterfront and then out to Constantia and Franschhoek before coming back to the hotel where it was a quick shower before heading out to the finale dinner with the work colleagues. It was here I was lucky enough to meet Joel Garner and Sir Garfield Sobers – both legendary cricketers.





But before long I had to head back to the hotel as it was another early morning flight. Unfortunately the timing was during the Cricket World Cup Final – New Zealand vs. Australia! Luckily I had my Dad texting me updates though given the performance and result, the less said about that the better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Table Mountain #5Table Mountain #5
Table Mountain #5

One of the 7 wonders of the natural world
Table Mountain #6Table Mountain #6
Table Mountain #6

Green Point Stadium
Table Mountain #7Table Mountain #7
Table Mountain #7

View back down to Cape Town
Table Mountain #8Table Mountain #8
Table Mountain #8

View back down to Cape Town


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb