Little side trip to Pretoria and Sun City...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » North West » Sun City
May 1st 2021
Published: May 14th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Another little side trip in South Africa. This time we stay 5 nights in Pretoria and two days around Sun City.

A holiday around Pretoria or Joburg is not on many people list. But here it is...I'm slowly making my way to play the top 100 rated golf courses in the country. Prior to this week, I was at 71. Today I am at 76. The simple reality is...beside two of them in Parys, all the 22 remaining are in Gauteng! So I technically need at least 3 more weeks of "holidays" around the area to achieve what not many people did in the country...play all the courses ranked in the latest chart of the top 100 by Golf Digest in 2018! Good chance I could be one of the few even maybe the first foreigner to ever do this. I'll have to check it closer to reaching that goal!



Golf courses around this area are super crowded. So even finding a slot on a Monday can be a challenge. This week I play Ebotse Links, Woodhill, Pretoria Country Club, Kyalami and Wingate. Those were all a first for me. I was hosted by friends in Ebotse and Wingate....and play the mid-week competition in Pretoria Country Club. Trust me, it's a small world, fun to bump in people I know left or right! My preferred courses were clearly Ebotse and Pretoria CC.



Middle of the week, little excursion to the NorthWest...I name Sun City. On Tuesday, super early wake up for one more safari day, this time Pilanesberg. We came here few years ago with Tiffany. It's a public holiday as well as school holidays, so we have some people around....but you cannot call the place crowded. We self-drive between 7am and 2pm...with an hour lunch break for a little bite and rest. Today, two lionesses, countless elephants, 4 rhinos, that's the highlight of the day. Parks is super nice....and I have to admit, we have had our share of safari for the past 6 months...and we love it! Next one is normally coming next month...a first even for me!



I stay just over 10 years ago at the Palace of the Lost City. Rates have never been cheap here...and I thought...ok, done it, never again. But this year it's a little special in South Africa. With the resident rates...the discount, the room come at less than 200usd per night including breakfast. Trust me...with normal prices, this place is a solid rip-off. Put it simply, the place is kind of fun, but the level of service is truly inefficient! Ok, we met the GM....plus the Executive Chef...plus....let's not go there!



The GM told me, next time you come, let me know in advance. I told him, don't worry, we'll be back for the golf....but don't ask me to stay again...we'll stop over for a drink to say hi!



The biggest draw of Sun City is the Gary Player golf course. They are ranked in the top 100 worldwide outside of US by Golf Digest. This is beautiful and solid golf. And today, there was close to nobody on the course. It is also a top bargain....56usd for the green fee including the lunch after the 9th hole. You won't find this deal anywhere in the US, Asia or even Europe. I have to admit, South Africa is by far the best country in the world for any golf addict! I'm in big time!



Next trip is coming soon...getting very close to my 90 days in SA....so let see what is going to happen soon....


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



14th May 2021

You mentioned Tiffany...
How is she doing? Has she graduated?

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb