Did I see the big 5 in Kruger.......!?!?


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday morning was another early start as we had to be packed and ready to leave at 5am so that we could be at the park gates for opening at 5.30am.

We got into the park via the Orpen gate and proceeded to the campsite so that we could meet up with the rest of the group who had started their tour a day earlier. Having dropped our bags into the site we jumped into the safari jeep and set off for the day. The day consisted of a continuous drive only stopping for breakfast lunch and dinner. Also when we returned to the campsite at 4.30pm we were collected again at 5pm for a sunset and night drive.

Thursday had the same routine as the day before without the night drive and also the weather wasn't as pleasant. When we set off at 6am it was slightly drizzling but nothing too noticeable however after lunch the rain came down and as I was sat at the back of the jeep with the sides were open I seemed to cop most of the rain. It soon became too much as with the breeze as well I was becoming really cold so after a lot of swearing the canvas sides were brought down. Fortunately, or unfortunately depending on your view, the animals were also taking shelter from the rain so there was little to see. The weather did eventually clear up but it remained cold.

Friday morning and Jean came to pick us up again and we set off for our final game drive before returning to the lodgings where we stayed on our first night for breakfast. We then set off back to our drop-off points. I was taken to a hostel in Nelspruit for the night as my next stop is Swaziland.

I think the photos speak for themselves hence the lack of usual spiel..... The tour around the safari was well worth the money. I got to see 4 of the big 5 the only animal that remained elusive was the leopard (I also didn't get to see a cheetah). I was however very happy to see my first wild hippo albeit it was in the water and only had its back stuck out of the water.

My family have been warned that I am not leaving South Africa until I have seen a hippo properly!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th November 2009

Heading to SA in 3 months
Glad to see that your travels are going well. My name is Adam Maingot and my wife and I are trying to plan a trek from the US to Africa through Kruger in February. We were wondering what safari company you used, the cost of the package and if they had some contact info. Thanks a mil and best of luck on the rest of your trip!!
10th November 2009

Kruger National Park
Hi Adam I used Livigstone Trails for my tour. I booked it when I arrive and they leave daily. You will see all upto date prices etc on their website http://www.livingstonetrails.co.za/. Enjoy and good luck

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb