Shup shup millipup :)


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Howzit guys
Sorry I haven't been on for so long... it's been absolutely hectic down here.
I can now add to my list of animals that I've seen... two families of wild elephants (the mother of one group charging at our van and throwing stones at us with her trunk. Now THAT was scary!) and two white rhino's, who were far, far bigger than I had ever imagined rhino's to be!
Since I last updates we've also done alot more work at the orphanage, and the bamboo fence is almost finished. My vegetable patch is looking good as well!
We've just come back from a week in Mozambique, where we were staying in thatched beach huts.
No joke, Africa is COLD. I actually had to go to bed in two pairs of trousers, two tops, a hoodie, a scarf and a pair of socks... and was still cold!
The day time is lush though, and is warm with generally clear blue skys. Very little that is tan worthy however, so that at least is one area where you don't have to be hideously jealous 😉
One of the days that we were out there the group had our own katamaran yaght, in which we sailed to a small island where we had cocktails and went snorkelling. I SAW DORI! And various odly flourescent starfish 😊
Back at the camp, I went Quadbiking on the sand dunes, off of the beach where I had a full on James Bond moment in doing a somersault in the air over the handlebars and then rolling away on the sand.
Due to the lack of any injuries, the novelty of this moment is still going strong, and I have come to the conclusion that I should become a stunt woman!
I have also become a competant haggler having spent a day in the inner city Mozambiquan markets, so I'm thinking that it may be a bit of a shock coming back to Mes Amis and saying "I'll give you $1.95 for the Mocha, and NO MORE!"
We are back in SA now, and I've spent the week thus far teaching 'Art and Culture' and 'Social Orientation' at the local school which has been awesome, if draining. Who knew lesson plans were so annoying!
Today I'm teaching music, and we're going to a Western world / African fusion of Singing in the Rain with bongo's and hand drums!
This weekend we are off to Swaziland for the Bush Fire Music Festival, which I am SERIOUSLY excited about - hows that for a first ever music festival?!
Just to let you all know, I am technologically challenged, so I'll have to wait untill I'm home to up load all of the photo's. And I'm not kidding when I say that there are A LOT of photo's!
I love it so much here, that I am always thinking of it as home - no offence!
When ever anything goes even slightly wrong (which is rare) I always crave my bed at Kwa!
I'm considering extending my time here by a week, maybe , so that I can travel a little bit more in SA , but if that doesn't work out, I'll go instead on our last weekend here to the extreme sports camp in Sabi to jump off bridges and waterfalls.
I may as well make the most of my time here!
I do miss you all though, and thankyou for persevering with my uncensored waffle on these blogs - I love reading all of your comments when I get the chance to come on, so THANKS!
I'd better go now - and I'll update you all soon.
LOVE YOU LOVE YOU LOVE YOU LOVE YOU
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



9th August 2009

You think Africa's far out, I've just been to Wales for a week.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb