Back in the K-Z-N !!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal
December 13th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In 3 weeks, it will have been a year since I left KwaZulu Natal.. since I left the rolling green hills and dusty roads of the farms in Camperdown.. since I last walked through a seemingly endless field of sugar cane. I doesn't feel like quite that long ago.. but it feels good to be back. Elisha and I have seen and done so much... we have met so many people, made so many friends... I fell in love with the loud and lively Long Street in Cape Town, along with the beautiful surrounds of Table Mountain.. of course our time in Joburg was filled with smiles and laughter... the beautiful Egoli city, more beautiful than anyone says it is... not the scary, dark place people make it out to be... I indeed love Johannesburg. As I scan through our photos of Botswana, Zambia, Namibia... It seems like so long ago!! I wish I could be back in Kolmanskop, digging our way through a forgotten town full of sand and ghosts..but the photos speak for themselves. I would love to be next to the mighty Victoria Falls again, to feel its' mist and hear its' roar... but the photos truly capture the falls' magnificence.
I am happy to be in a very familiar place just before the holiday season. It isn't Cape Town, it isn't a busy and lively city. But when we want that or want to sit on the beach we need only to head east to Durban. I look forward to visiting some familiar places in Pietermaritzburg, maybe even a round or two of bowling. Elisha will become bored sometimes, I know that... with all we have seen and experienced, this will not compare... but there is something special about this place for me, and my friends here are what made me truly feel at home in South Africa...and I think she will understand and feel that.
I will upload more photos of our times at Monkeyland and our trek though the Eastern Cape.
Big plus about Camperdown is free internet at the library. Score.

take care..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb