New home, same sharks!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Shelly Beach
March 13th 2017
Published: March 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Here we are, after speaking about it for years, we have moved! Our new home is right on the beach, some 130km south of Durban.



Why here? Simple, the wine and food that South Africa is providing are amazing. This must be the best deal ever when it comes to play golf. I have 7 golf courses less than 45 minutes drive from home...at a quality/price ratio that cannot be beaten today, anywhere...in the world!



But the best, is that every morning, I just have to cross the road in my wetsuit to get to the dive center! Yes, just crossing the road in my wetsuit...and that diving is just amazing. The pictures on the blog are just the best of the last 11 dives, trust me, it was not easy to chose the best ones!



The plan is to live some 4 to 5 months per year. I still have to work, so for that I'll keep going around Africa and Asia some four months per year. You make the math, that should leave us with a great 3 months per year to discover the little places we haven't been to yet! The list is getting shorter every year, and I'm more than thankful of the chance we have.



So how do we run a basic week while at home. Diving meeting is either at 6am or 7am, so by 10am, I'm done with my single dive of the day, hoping to do five of them per week.



South Africans love to play golf in the morning, so if you show up at 2pm, you'll have the place to yourself. Imaging, playing Margate, a decent course 5-10 minutes driving from home, cost me a whopping 5.5usd for a round of 18 holes if we show up after 2pm...try to beat this! So yes, five round of golf per week sound pretty nice too....at least we'll stay fit. Imagine, Wild Coast, just 40km from home is ranked as the 13th best course in South Africa....if I play alone, it's 35usd including the buggy on Mondays and Thursdays. The course is still a little too much of a challenge for Tanya...



I've lived for the past twenty years in megalopolis with often over 10 millions other souls! Now, we've reach the countryside...we just have to open the back door of our apartment block, and the beach is less than 100 meters through the park! There are just 5 supermarkets in a 3km radius, and the cinema is only 600 meters from here...but we live in the countryside...by the beach!



Will I keep blogging about our new home. The answer is yes...but not too often. Out of 5 dives here....one may be slightly boring, three will be three truly fun ones....and one will be amazing...so I hope to share more fun pictures with you!



Don't ask me what Tiffany think about the place....she is my shark girl....while Tanya is my golf buddy most days of the week.



Yes, this leave me with plenty of time to deal with my clients all over the world via what I must admit, is far slower internet than what we had in Bangkok. We just start our days early here...and with no pollution, that fresh air put you to bed pretty early too!



So when people ask me if we moved to Joburg or Cape Town, my answer is no. We moved to the South Coast. I have to admit that if you don't play golf or dive, the area may sound slightly boring for you.



Enjoy the pics...and come to share some great wine and food with us....we have space!


Additional photos below
Photos: 113, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



27th March 2017

nouveau nid...
C'est q u'on a pas l'air de s' ennuyer la-bas... j'arrive bientôt !
27th March 2017

What a beautiful place to live!!!
You didn't mention where Leslie is living and going to school. It's hard to keep up with how old there both are...time flies. Is he in university yet?
27th March 2017
...

Nice
Great shot

Tot: 0.78s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 41; qc: 140; dbt: 0.4262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb