Back to Maritzburg, briefly


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Pietermaritzburg
October 26th 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

We started the morning off with a trip to Home Affairs to learn more about work permits. We found the complex yesterday afternoon, after trying several times to phone with no answer. I had prepared questions about the forms, and dressed in business attire to make a good impression. We found the office nearest us, and Bob waited in the car. I asked the guard where to go for work permits; he pointed me to a door that said Passports, so I went in and asked. The counter clerk said that work permits were handled in the building next door (there were only two buildings). So I went to the building next door, which said Marriage - Birth - Death Certificates, Etc. on the door. After waiting for my turn to speak with the clerk, he said they didn’t do work permits at that facility; you have to go to Harrison downtown. I asked where exactly that office was; he said near the Nelson Mandela Bridge. Where is the Nelson Mandela Bridge? You don’t know where is the Nelson Mandela Bridge?! You are ignorant! Silence on my part, then laughter. OK, I am ignorant, where is it? Well, maybe they do
our room at the Ascot Innour room at the Ascot Innour room at the Ascot Inn

The room was small but very comfortable.
it at the Roodepoort office. I will ask.

After waiting for a few minutes for more information that didn’t appear to be forthcoming, we left. Later I learned that there is no Roodepoort office of Home Affairs listed. Well, I can’t say I hadn’t been warned about the disarray of the Home Affairs department.

We then hustled back to Pietermaritzburg to pick up our car, arriving ½ an hour too late for the dealership. We were able to talk with our salesperson and arranged to meet in the morning. He is handling all of the registration stuff for us. After our brief encounter at Home Affairs, I am so much more grateful for any assistance with the red tape here.

We stayed at the Ascot Inn, a remodeled horse stable across from an old racetrack that apparently had been the scene of quite a busy racing culture at one time. The place was quite beautiful, and Bob took some nice pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb