A local's view of Durban


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
October 1st 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today is my last day in Durban. Ally, Helend and myself booked ourselves in to a pretty gross hostel in the down town part of Durban, so we could walk around the town and be close to the beach. We quickly realised we were in a pretty dodgy part of town when the guy in the hostel told us there were more places we couldn't walk to than those we could!
We took a local minibus taxi thing to the Indian market which was only down the road but apparently not safe to walk to... Too be honest I think we'd have been safer walking than taking the taxi!! Got in to this thing which was totally bazzed up, with lowered suspension, stickers all over it to make it cooler than the next minbus and inside were about 50 African people with only about 12 seats inside it! We got in to the back of it and my ear drums nearly burst with the music that was blaring out of the speakers behind us. The other ladies in the bus didn't seem to think there was anything weird about the whole thing, and were not remotely worried about the highly erratic driving, but I found the whole experience quite hilarious and alarming at the same time! We got dropped off in one of THE dodgiest parts of town and then had to walk through this walkway to the indian market. Luckily we didn't get mugged so managed to get to the market and do some shopping. Afterwards, thought we'd give the cab a miss and just walk back!
Next morning we decided to check out of the hostel - after Helen found a cockroach had found it's way on to her arm! So got picked up by the owners of Hippo Hide, who have a gorgeous hostel in a smart part of Durban. It was Helen and Ally's last night here so we decided to go and treat ourslelves to a final meal together in Ocean Baket, a great Seafood place.

The girlies had to get up early the next morning so we said our goodbyes, which was very sad and they left me! Soon afterwards I was collected by a friend that Sarah made on the plane on her way out here last month who had told her I must come and stay. Ron turned out to be the nicest person ever and kindly offered me a bed for a few nights. His maid made made me breakfast and it's been like staying in a hotel! I'm roughly the age of his grand daughters and he lives on his own, so I think he's been glad of the company and it's been great having someone take me around. Today I went off to this artifical wave thing up in the North of Durban where they make an artifical wave that you can surf and body board on. It can makes waves up to about 10 feet and lots of pros go there and practise apparently. Darryl, Ron's negbour kindly took me up there and watched me make a total idiot of msyelf while I tried to get on a body board and surf the wave! Soon I got the hang of it though and actually found it pretty fun. So I've had a realy cool time in Durban and have been so lucky to meet such lovely generous people. It's made a change from being a backpacker and have seen a different side of South Africa which has been absolutely fantastic.

Advertisement



2nd October 2006

Gnarly waves Dude!!
Hey there Surfer Chick your blog is awesome and you have written loads so i am thinking of changing our title to the most unlaziest people we know!!! keep on surfing miss you loads xx
11th October 2006

Hey chick man i was laughing my head off at the lst story how funny is that horse riding and bike ride yo did. My cell is 027 671 9896 so when you arrive give me a call cos i think your arriving this weekend??? I'm heading down to Dunedin cos my nana is dying and then will be t home in geraldine chillin so looking forward to making a plan. Also it is my birthday soon and you can party with me yay!!!! talk soon travel safe. Sara

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb