Walks in the bush...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The last few weeks have been something special. The entire trip has been something special- something amazing. I cannot explain the complex feelings and thoughts that are created when you are on, say, a Monday in the dry deserts of Namibia and then on Wednesday you are enjoying the cool breezes in Cape Town.
We have spent about a month in Camperdown. This is my home in South Africa. Home number two. I would say 60% of my memories of South Africa are from this area. Is it a cluster of bustling madness like Joburg? No way. Is it the hipster streets of Cape Town, with waves crashing in the distance? No. But it is home number two.
Christmas was not so much of a traditional Christmas celebration, but we spent it in good company and had a nice time. New Year's was loads of fun, good times all around. We lit up the night with our friend Grant. A couple hours were spent entertaining the kids at the nearby squatter camp with fireworks. Their smiles said it all and made it a beautiful evening. Grant took us on plenty of bush walks... Deep into the brush, with snakes hiding all around and old decaying houses from another time. Colonial Africa may have had some evils, but there was also a great deal of beauty and structure...and the buildings decaying makes me a bit sad. I love Africa and all of it's mysterious ways. The good and the bad- this is what makes Africa...well... Africa.

We are heading back to Texas in less than two weeks. I had the time of my life and I was able to spend it with an amazing girl. Once home, I will be posting longer, more in depth journal entries and many more photographs. So you have not heard the last of my rantings yet.
To everyone, Happy New Year. 2011. Doesn't sound as nice as 2010.
Take care!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb