City Walk


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
March 18th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, I arrived here in South Africa safe and sound and have started my masters classes as well as my involvement in Rotary. This blog is from one of my first big experiences here in Durban.

Sawbona!

This morning while drinking coffee outside on my little lawn chair I was hung up on two main thoughts. First I was thinking, lobsters are probably less red than the sunburn I am sporting. And a second more cheesy thought was how connected and inspired I was by South Africa, and more specifically South Africans on this beautiful sunny morning. Now the reason for my new found appreciate had nothing to do with the fact that my instant coffee seemed a bit tastier this morning, nor that the sun was shining the birds chirping and the monkeys were hanging from the trees, it was more out of the adventure that took place yesterday. Yesterday I feel like I really saw South Africa. Not just looking as my walking, not tour, guide would say, but really seeing it.
Let me jump back in time now, to yesterday morning. As the last day of my orientation in the development I had the impression I was going to take a quick walking tour of the city, maybe get into the sketchier parts, but overall just get an introduction to Durban. And then my purse was taken from me for safety reasons, and I met Doung. Passion does not even begin to describe this man, while at first he was a bit intense stopping us at every rogue weed sprouting through the crack of the sidewalk, and artistic square of pigeon excrement, he actually began to grow on me. His passion for architecture and the inequalities that exist here in Durban, and around the world, were stunning. Whether you agree with him or not, to find someone who is not afraid to dive in headfirst and show their intense passion for any subject is inspiring, and can be a rarity these days. So Doung led us down through the city, and into the markets, places where most foreigners, and even South Africans are afraid to go. While one guy was interested in the woman in the group and another told me in Zulu he wanted a white girlfriend, I have to say I never felt scared or out of place. I especially loved the markets, ever since living in Asia, I really appreciate a vibrant colorful marketplace. The smells of fresh produce and the chatter and socializing that happen there cannot be replicated in a non-organic environment. I did find it interested that I felt less fear and foreignness than some of the native Zulu speaking South Africans, whether that is naivness on my part or just that they were brought up with these ideas, I’m not sure. Regardless I loved the markets and would much rather shop there than my local superspar. Even the native medicine market that came complete with potions to cure any aliment, I think I even saw the skull of a monkey, was a diverse and friendly place. After a long walk we ended up at the sea, I don’t know if it was on purpose or maybe just because I grew up on the water, but that seemed like the perfect end to our journey.
I know I’m a bit late on the photos, but here are a few from Carolyn’s home.
Cheers



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb