New month, new continent ~ AFRICA


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
September 1st 2016
Published: September 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

There is a distinctive quality to light in Africa.

I can emerge from a plane, stand on the tarmac, look at the sky.....and KNOW I am THERE !



When I was a teenager, I heard someone say that Africa is rather like a ' fever in your bloodstream, You never get rid of it.' Having been gone more than 30 years, I have to say I think it's true. Especially once you leave the cities far behind and head out into the bush.





There are definitely " must see " things & places in South Africa : ~



Table Mountain, complete with it's tablecloth of clouds,

Gorgeous white sand beaches,

The Drakensberg Mountains,

The Karoo desert, after a rain !

The vineyards of Constantia & Stellenbosch.

Kruger Park Game Reserve.



BUT, in this blog, I'm going to highlight a smaller game reserve, not far from Johnnesburg......because I loved every minute of a very long day spent there !

My sister, a good friend, and I set out before daybreak, listening to a Rod Stewart CD playing quietly. It's a really good thing when you can enjoy the company of peaceful people. You know the kind I mean.....ones who feel no burning desire to ' yack your ear off ' 😊 There are so many sights and smells to savour.

August and early September are great months for game viewing. The trees are still bare after the winter ( Summer in the northern hemisphere ) and the veld is a golden brown, which doesn't camoflage the animals quite so well.

The slow pace of a drive along dirt roads is a very pleasant thing. No dust to choke on and much game, just giving you a disinterested stare, at close range.

There were several stopping points, enclosed by fences and gates, with shady, thatched 'lapas' , to have a picnic. Running water and clean outhouses were available, too.

At sunset, we left the car for a view from a cliff. There was a beautiful valley stretching for miles, with one lone road snaking through the plain. A little piece of Africa worth imprinting in your brain.



I also took the opportunity to visit relatives in Pietermaritzburg. My cousin was kind enough to pick me up at Durban airport and take me to Amanzimtoti, for a quick paddle in the Indian ocean. OH, I LOVE THE SEA !



All these experiences were wonderful and I'll treasure them,

...........but, the 'dark side' is the unemployment rate in S. Africa, which has caused a huge spike in crime. Tourist need to be very careful, wherever they go !


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb